Order from chaos… The beginning of a journey

“To put the world in order, we must first put the nation in order; to put the nation in order, we must put the family in order; to put the family in order, we must cultivate our personal life; and to cultivate our personal life, we must first set our hearts right. “

— Confucius

Seems simple doesn’t it? If all is right with you, then all is right with the world.  It is something I’ve heard throughout my life, from a very young age until very recently in my weekly teachings on Tao. But to set the heart “right”, on the one straight path, is far from simple.

Decisions,  we’ve all made a few that we wish we hadn’t made. But most choices we make are fueled by the desire to be happy. Again, this is easier said than done.

When I married my wonderful husband, we decided 8 months into our newlywed year to start trying for a family. For over 3 years, we dreamed of a baby to come and bless our world, and when the day finally came, it was clear in our minds : Our lives had a bigger purpose.

Most of you who have kids probably remember the “First time parent” craziness : Books, blogs, gadgets, maniacal preparation and dreams… so many dreams of how this family’s story will unfold. My oh my… Life is much different when you are in the trenches!

And this is where my journey began. The day I realized that plans had to be changed and life didn’t happen the way you thought it would, I started :

  • Looking for a way to let go of my expectations and learning to love my child, now children, for who they are, not what I thought I could make them out to be.
  • Finding a way to simplify our lives to make their life richer.
  • Finding the balance between all my now full-time jobs, be it teacher, nurse, yogi, meditation guru, referee, chef, chauffeur, hair dresser, house keeper, seamstress, artist, nature guide, actor, singer, dancer… all of which mean MOTHER to me.
  • Trying to create a healthy and wholesome environment for my children to grow, filled with beauty, freedom, nature and spirituality.
  • Finding the strength to be my own person in a world that does not always accept differences as the treasures of who we are.
  • Finally becoming happy and grateful for the life I have and the opportunity I was given to live it fully.

In hoping that you will walk a few steps of this road with me, I wish you now, a very peaceful day.

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Order from chaos… The beginning of a journey

  1. WisconZen says:

    I really enjoyed this entry! Thank you so much for sharing!! 🙂

    Like

  2. You, my friend, have been on this crazy motherhood journey with me since our daughters were born in 2010. And I am the luckiest woman alive to have you be the calm in my life. Love you beyond words. xox

    Like

  3. Hello there, so happy to see you in your lovely new space.

    “Finally becoming happy and grateful for the life I have and the opportunity I was given to live it fully.” – YES!!!!

    Looking forward to following along on your journey.

    Like

  4. Pingback: One year ago today… | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

