For the love of fabric… The making of a quilter’s space

I started quilting a little under 2 years ago. My mother-in-law is part of a family of women that are so talented. Her and many of her sisters (she is one of 7 women!) have carried on their mother’s work and I feel blessed that she would choose me to pass it on too. Little did I know how much this hobby, now turned passion, would give me and how much a part of my journey it would become.

Deconstructed, quilting is a true meditation. The sensory experience as I choose the right fabrics, the precision I need to make the cuts, my steady hands that run those straight seams under the needle, the chanting of the machine guiding me like beating Taiko drums, the whimsy of my heart when I free-motion quilt the layers together, the patience I channel for the hand stitched bindings and the joy I feel from giving my hard work away to friends and family, leaving a part of myself with them always.

Although I have trained myself to use what I have and try to keep a minimalist approach to the art (because believe me, the gadgets, accessories and tools available for purchase in quilting are infinite), the one thing that all quilters need is a dedicated space. I tried for over a year to store everything in my closet, taking everything out every time I felt the urge, only to find I was spending more time getting set up and cleaning up than I was actually working. For months, my machine stayed hidden away as I felt an extreme lack of motivation. What was the point? My daughter naps for 90 minutes and it would take me 45 minutes to bring everything out!

After months of lament, my husband stepped in.

See, I was blessed with a partner in life that believes in the power for creation. Being an artist and a musician himself, he knows just how hard it is to find a peaceful place inside when you are surrounded with chaos. And that is what our kitchen/dining room/living room would become every time my fabric boxes exploded everywhere.

So now, I have a dedicated space. It is not a room, since we have a very small house, but I do lay claim to a wall in our living room and I could not be happier! It is still under construction, but I thought I’d share the beginnings of my little “open-concept” studio!

Here is an overview of the space that is slowly becoming mine!

My quilting space

My husband is in the process of building me a new, deeper table with a drop-leaf so my machine can rest below and my sewing surface can be even, easier for quilting bigger pieces. But the beautiful table he had first built me, made from pallets and reclaimed wood, is on of my most prized possessions. Believe me, it will be reused somewhere wonderful in our home.

Sewing table and peg wall

Close up machine and table

The peg wall behind will become a bit less cluttered once more hooks and shelves have been added. But this is an easy way to keep all the not-so-kid-friendly tools away from grabby little hands.

Finally, the dresser was a Kijiji (our equivalent to Craig’s List) find for 50$ and with nice deep drawers, I was able to organize my fabrics for easy access. Plus, standing almost 5 feet tall, it was again a nice way to keep precious tools (i.e. the laser printer and my serger) away from curious fingers!

Fabric storage

As the weeks go by, I’ll post more updates. The excitement is simply palpable.

Do you all have a creative space? Even if it is a simple desk in your bedroom or a spot at the kitchen table, I would love for you to share!

Have a wonderful day and thank you for stopping by.

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to For the love of fabric… The making of a quilter’s space

  1. How wonderful to have a partner who understands the need for creativity! Your space looks fabulous!

    Like

  2. How lovely! My creative space is much like yours, a wall in our family/dining room…small house here too 🙂 The same wall also incorporates my little reading/knitting corner.

    How awesome that you quilt, it is on my to do list to learn…one day. Can’t wait to see all your beautiful creations in your new space. Enjoy!

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      I will be sure to share… It is in our long term plan to replace the outdated beat up garage on our property with a small studio/cottage for my sewing and my husbands painting, sketching and bike repair! LOL! But that is a 10 year plan so we make due for now. 🙂 If you ever dive into quilting, let me know… I’ll try and share as much as I can!

      Like

  3. sewfrench says:

    In the early days, I sewed at our kitchen table, so like you, lots of picking up and putting away. I eventually moved it to one wall of our tiny bedroom. I got a lot more done, even if we could barely walk around the bed! It was easier to keep curious fingers away though.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Absolutely. My daughter knows to not touch mommy’s sewing stuff if I’m not there. But she was old enough to understand when we set up the space. Now my 7 month old son will be crawling soon and that might pose a whole new set of challenges!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Busy, crazy couple of days… | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

  5. sally says:

    Is it the chair under your sewing table? It looks a beautiful chair and it looks lovely and mellow and natural. But I need a closer photo! I think you definitely need to go thrifting for chairs, work some mod podge magic again and show us both properly!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I’ll take a picture today and send it to you… There are some roughed up patches (I’ve been sitting on it since college and university! Lots of late night school work.), but it’s still one of my favorite projects I’ve ever done!

      Like

  6. Pingback: New start, new memories, fresh paint! | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

