Vice Versa Block of the Month (BOM) 2014

Good morning everyone!

On this 1st of February, I woke up and immediately checked my email. See, I’m participating in my first online Block of the Month (BOM) through one of my favorite website, Gen X Quilters, hosted by the lovely AnneMarie, and the pattern to this month’s block should be arriving within the next few hours!

Being in Quebec City, a place that seems to have forgotten about sewing in general, I’ve found it hard to find individual that quilt. I’ve had friends that have approached me, wanting to learn, which I’m so happy about. I can’t wait for us to sit and share in our crafty ventures. But to find others to simply sit around with, learn from and sew with is something I long for. My mother-in-law and her sisters are so far away. It’s been a challenge to keep connected through email.

So I thought a BOM quilt along would be right up my alley. We have a community page on Flickr and we share our blocks through pictures. We comment and critique, we encourage and quilt together and by the end, we will all have a beautiful quilt.

One pattern a month seemed reasonable since I never know how much time I will get with the kiddos running around, but now, I’m finding that I’m truly working on my seed of patience. I got excited when the first pattern came and was done with the block  in a few hours. Others in the group have mentioned belonging to more than one BOMs to avoid this waiting period, and maybe I’ll choose to do that next year as my children grow up and become a bit more independent, but for now, I’m kind of feeling like a kid at Christmas and that is just the loveliest feeling. And if Christmas was everyday, wouldn’t the magic of it fade away?

In the mean time, I wanted to share my project as it unfolds.

Color pallet - BOM

So, from left to right, you will find my flannel backing fabric, yellow for the binding, chrysanthemums for the sashing and border, and then my 5 solids and my white for the blocks themselves.

The point of the Vice Versa quilt is to make 2 of each blocks, a classic block and its inverse version, and then quilting together in a modern quilting pattern, created by AnneMarie. If that wasn’t clear, here are my January blocks so you can get a better idea :

January Block A IMG_5936I look forward to sharing with you this quilt as it comes to life.

To all my quilting friends : Do you participate in BOMs or Quilt-alongs?

To everyone else, what kind of crafts fill your free moments?

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Vice Versa Block of the Month (BOM) 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vice Versa Block of the Month (BOM) 2014

  1. Julie says:

    wow!! i am amazed by quilters & would love to learn! i love the inverse idea…& your backing flannel is gorgeous. I’m excited to see your quilt as it unfolds. thanks for sharing! i’m nervous around sewing machines, but maybe i’ll eventually join you. how long have you been quilting?

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      I’ve been quilting for about a year and a half (2 years in July)… funny enough, I find quilting much easier than sewing clothes. Now of course, I haven’t done anything mighty complicated yet, but it’s a nice way to get used to a machine. Mostly cause at the beginning, you are running straight seems, you know? You should seek out a quilter’s guild near your home. Or go to fabric stores and see if they have beginners classes… I find it so soothing.

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

