Superbowl Spread : Onion and Garlic free Guacamole

So, tonight is all about the finger foods and no matter who you are rooting for (even if you are just watching for the commercials and half-time show), a nice spread of finger foods is a must! Our all time favorite has always been chips with salsa and guacamole, but with onions and garlic being on the top of the ingredients list, we had to come up with something.

Now the guacamole wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. All my recipes used to contain very little garlic to star with, so it was only a question of balancing out the missing acidity and tang. After a few tries, we finally found a recipe that works for us and I hope you enjoy it as well!

Onion and garlic free Guacamole

  • 1 big very ripe avocado, peeled and cut in big chunks
  • The juice of a half a lime (size of lime really depends on you. I love mine extra tangy, but you can experiment.)
  • A pinch of sea salt
  • A pinch of white pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne powder (chili powder usually has garlic and onion powder in it so we use the pure cayenne chili powder instead.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cumin
  • A handful of chopped fresh cilantro (add more or less to taste.)

Blend everything in the food processor, or mash for a chunky version.

Voilà!

Onion Garlic Free Guacamole

Some variation I might suggest is minced chilies (such as chipotle or jalapenos) if you like it extra spicy. You may also want to experiment with other herbs such as basil or flat leaf parsley.

I hope you enjoy!

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Garlic and Onion free cooking, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Superbowl Spread : Onion and Garlic free Guacamole

  1. Yum! Thanks for sharing. I never put garlic in my guac 🙂

    Like

  2. For some reason the creamy deliciousness of the avocado seems so much more decadent without the garlic or onion – cilantro makes a big difference. I love that you add the cumin it makes a big difference – I’m always very generous when adding it hehe

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      So am I! For the longest time, while making homemade Mexican, I could never quite recreate what I ate out. One day, a friend went through my pantry and asked what I put in it, I took out all the spices and he said : Well, that’s the problem… the cumin stayed on the shelf! I just never looked back! 🙂

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

