They always find a way to make us remember…

Today, my daughter stayed home from preschool with the beginning of pink-eye. Ugh! It is just a nasty nasty bacteria an it breaks my heart every time I have to pin my poor daughter down to insert drops into her beautiful hazel eyes.

All and all, it was a pretty miserable day : Crankiness reigned and mom and daughter did not see eye to eye on much. Meals were a challenge, activities were a rooster fight, even simple task like going to the potty became a grande scale war. More than once today, I had to walk away for a minute to catch my breath, something I’m not at all comfortable doing. There is something so utterly gut wrenching about turning your back to your child, even for a moment, when you know that them acting out is a direct mirror of the inner crisis that is raging inside their small bodies.

But they always bring you back…

During a short truce in the battles of the day, I got her to sit down with me and play Candyland. As the cards turned in her favor and she was ushered quickly up to Candy Castle, I looked at her smiling and asked her if she wanted to play again. She looked at me, very tenderly and said : “But maman, the game isn’t done. You haven’t won yet.” She then proceeded to pick cards for me until my little yellow gingerbread man made its way up to her and then called the game won!

This reminded me of a quote I saw a few years back that said : “Your toddler isn’t giving you a hard time, he’s having a hard time.” I don’t know who said it, but I sure wish I did.

Patience and compassion, empathy and a loving heart, these are the things I strive for everyday. These are the things my children help me cultivate. Through my example, although not always the best example, they will become who they should be and it is my job to make sure they are the best they can be.

So I truly repent for my short comings and my inability to separate myself from my own suffering, in a situation when her suffering was what I needed to help take away.

Good night everyone.

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to They always find a way to make us remember…

  1. Love that quote. Not always easy to remember in the midst of the battles, but one to try to live up to. Hope your little one is feeling better today.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Thank you, she is. She is back at preschool, excited cause today is her first of two weekly English classes. And as always, she woke up this morning happy, completely having let go of yesterday’s woes. Love that little one!!!

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

