A pillow for a special little man.

The one thing I’ve realized over the last almost two years of quilting is that I love doing it for others. The making of homemade gift has always touched something in me. Before, when I had more time and I could spend week-ends working on it, I made a lot of preserves and my loved ones could always count on a pickled something to add to their meals or a sweet something to spread on their toast in the morning.

With the little ones the last few years, canning has taken a bit of a back seat, although I do want to get back to it soon, and quilting has been how I show the people I love just how much I love them.

Last week-end was the 3rd birthday of a special little man in my life, the son of a very dear friend. When his little brother “O” was born last fall, I made him a quilt.

Unfortunately, when “W” was born, I hadn’t started quilting yet. For a while I thought of making him one, but then I decided to go another way, something special for him that could remind him of big hugs from his “auntie” Yanic every time he went to bed. His own quilted pillow.

Pillow W front IMG_6006It wasn’t the most popular gift at the birthday party, and I knew that it would not be. I just couldn’t compete, then and there, with the fire truck and the John Deere tractor. Especially in front of his bigger cousins and big brother. But my friend wrote that next morning to tell me that W had requested that from now on, he was to sleep with this new pillow instead of his old one. And that just made me smile.

Good night everyone.

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A pillow for a special little man.

  1. Toni says:

    That is one adorable pillow!

    Like

  2. It is beautiful! I too love making handmade for gifts.

    Like

  3. What a wonderful gift! Handmade gifts are the best, and they truly do as much for the giver as for the recipient. Last year i made a baby quilt for a friend, and it’s been in nearly every photo of the baby that’s been posted to Facebook- I love knowing that I made them that special, beloved item. I am certain your pillow will be loved to tatters, just the way it should be.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Wonderfully said… I’ve had super sweet people look at my quilts an ask me how I would go about hanging them on the wall… I simply answer I never would. LOL! They are made to be loved, played with, chewed on (baby quilts of course), washed, dried and to fade… Fading means loving, and that is what I worked so hard for!

      Thanks for your visit!

      Like

  4. I am learning to sew, so I admire your work. Hand made gifts are truly the most touching, in my opinion;)

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

