52 letters project : 1/52 and Gratitude (inspired by Kim)

Today, I wrote my first weekly letter. Why so long after last Friday’s post? Because I honestly didn’t know where to start. So many people to write to, so many things I wanted to say. It took me a minute (or a few days) to finally decide on one person to start this amazing project with.

Many people in my life inspire me by their talent, their intelligence, their love of life, their entire beings… This person inspires me deep in my soul. We all have those people in our lives that can do it ALL! You look at them go and you are almost exhausted. LOL! My friend is one of those people. But like many of the people I hold so dear, she lives far away and we only get to see each other a few times a year. My children know her as “auntie” and my daughter makes drawings for her all the time.Ā I decided to send her one today. I’m hoping she’ll make herself a nice cup of tea and think of all the long hours, chatting and sipping mug after mug of tea together, learning from each other, sharing in our lives. I hope she knows that I think of her everyday and that those few moments a year are some of the most precious ones I have.

52 letters project 1 of 52

I’ve also felt inspired by Kim at Mothering with Mindfulness to share with you what I’m grateful for today. It seems like it is during the most trying times that gratitude is important, to find and cherish the little things that make our lives the blessings that they are and to help us let go of suffering and live in the now.

Today, I’m grateful for :

  • A partner in life with who I can be honest, without fear of judgment or lashing out.
  • For a daughter that always wants to push the limits, even the ones inside herself.
  • For an imperfect and creatively eclectic, sometimes messy, always inspiring, home.
  • For my son’s long easy naps, during which I can be myself and enjoy the silence of my own little world, allowing me to feel whole as a person.
  • For kids that so far, love being with one another. Always making each other smile, always waiting to be close.
  • For winter as a season, making us slow down and reflect, plan and dream.

Sibbling love

What are you grateful for? I would love to know!

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Letters Project, Gratitude. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 52 letters project : 1/52 and Gratitude (inspired by Kim)

  1. I found that first letter hard too, and each week it is hard to chose just one person. Happy you got that first one done šŸ™‚

    Such a lovely gratitude list, you read mine already, but I would also like to add gratitude for “meeting” you. It is lovely getting to know you.

    Thanks for the shout out!

    Like

  2. jemills56 says:

    Loved this post, remember my mothers blue writing paper, lined envelopes and beautiful handwriting in black ink.

    Like

  3. Pingback: To-Do Tuesday – Feb 18, 2014 | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

  4. Christine says:

    What a fabulous! I haven’t read the first post, but I will be shortly. Gratitude is such a wonderful thing!

    Like

  5. Pingback: To-Do Tuesday – February 25, 2014 | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

  6. Pingback: To-Do Tuesday – March 4, 2014 | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

