How do you prepare for a day of not doing much?

My son has finally lost is fight against the bug that has been going around our home, and while we are all slowly on the mend, he is unfortunately in a miserable state.

Funny enough, this week was my week for tying up loose ends : I was going to bind a few mug rugs, I was going to quilt a small table topper I’ve been making for a friend. I wanted to finish knitting the bright orange wash cloth I promised my daughter weeks ago and my son’s scarf (which at this point will most likely be ready by mid-spring). I was also going to bake, clean, go take walks in the cold but radiant sunlight, finish my block-of-the-month block, my 13th Farmer’s Wife Quilt Block, catch up on my book club reading and the list goes on. But my poor honey has been taking 15 minute cat naps and coughing his little lungs out the remainder of his days, so mommy arms must mother and to the couch I’m mostly bound, the same couch I have been bound for the last 3 days.

And my To-Do list sits and stares…

IMG_6089

But sitting there is very hard to do. Everything about our lives tells us that we must always be doing something. Relaxation is frowned upon, seen as procrastination, as laziness. How
can you accomplish something if you are doing nothing? And isn’t life about accomplishing, getting “it” done, whatever “it” is?

Then I read this post yesterday over at Mindfulbalance and it just struck a chord :

It’s really important to be careful and attentive to how much one gets swept up into the busyness. Those are two different things — actually doing something and the frantic, busy, scattered energy that you bring to the task. Try to watch and reflect on the feeling behind what you’re doing. What is the energy behind it? Recognize where the feeling of agitation comes from. So much depends upon staying with the breathing — breathing into the activity of what we’re doing. Sometimes it helps to step back and slow down, because often less gets accomplished the more frantic you become, in terms of actual physical accomplishment, as well as in your sense of enjoyment and harmony with others. Often it’s more the attitude that we carry that’s problematic because you can only do one thing at a time, anyway. We carry around in our minds all the things we think we have to do and that stirs up this frantic energy. So just breathe into what we are doing, be with it, not getting too swept up. Make the breath a force for settling.

Ajahn Pasanno, Breathe into busy activity

So here I am contemplating the question : Is fussing over everything I wanted to do this week causing the nervous energy that prevents me from just sitting down with my son? Is letting the guilt of goals not reached stopping me from realizing that I AM DOING SOMETHING? Something important, something that should, that IS, at the top of my to-do list which is to care for my son in his time of need.  So with this I answer my own question :

How do you prepare of a day of not doing much? You breathe…

sick little man

How do you all relax when you are filled with things you want to do? I would love for you to share!

Wishing you a peaceful day.

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Gratitude, Healing, Knitting, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How do you prepare for a day of not doing much?

  1. Oh noes I hope your little guy regains his full health soon!

    The same practices of letting go and accepting are handy here. With endometriosis, my chronic pain is still an issue from time to time. When things act up, it really interferes and all of the things I planned to do don’t get done: I have to cancel plans I know I won’t be able to reschedule for a while, I fall behind on blog posts, I can’t cook or do yoga/qigong like I want to… It can be very stressful. But the stress only makes the pain worse!

    I’ve come to a point where I realize there is nothing I can do about the circumstances and so I must accept them as they are. I let go of those feelings of urgency and need that are realistically nothing more than delusions anyhow. I figure I’ll be better off now for not stressing myself unnecessarily, as well as better off later because keeping myself in a relaxed and peaceful state of being means I recover faster.

    If anything, try to enjoy and be grateful for this ‘time off’ – maybe it allows you to spend more time in peace and quiet each day, reflecting inwards. Or perhaps take the opportunity to gaze out the window and see the world through ‘new’ eyes. Or maybe you can find joy simply in the opportunity to hold your son’s body so close in his time of need. There are always pearls to fish for 😉

    Like

  2. Poor little guy, I do hope he feels better soon. My little man was sick this week and I am just working on a post about the letting go and actual enjoyment of doing nothing while I snuggled with him.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Yep… I think it’s gonna be a theme on the mommy blogosphere this week. I think every mom I know has a sick little one at home. Colds are very nasty this week. I hope Reece feels better soon!

      Like

  3. Here’s hoping he feels better soon… what a thoughtful post.

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

