Vegan Blueberry-Lemon Muffins

Good morning everyone!

So, I got to bake this morning which always makes me feel wonderful. I’m a tremendously lucky women because my kids (and husband) love my cooking and it seems like the healthier I make their snacks, the more they adore it. Yes, you read that right!

For me, the secret is keeping it simple. Too often, making classic cooking healthier is about substitution. But with my kids (and I’m thinking a lot of kids), the more you substitute with stuff they can’t relate to or pronounce, the less they’ll want to eat it. So I try to keep it simple with as little ingredients as I can (I’m a less than 10 things in my meals kinda girl) and it’s rarely not a hit.

This morning was about baking with what I had and making it work. Grocery shopping with a sick infant in minus a million degree weather is not on the top of my list, so here is what I came up with. Turned out pretty good!

Blueberry-Lemon muffins

Vegan Blueberry-Lemon Muffins

  • 2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 2 TBSP wheat germ
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • lemon zest of 1 to 2 lemons (go with your personal preference, but we LOVE lemon, so I put the zest of 2)
  • 1 cup almond milk (or any non dairy milk you like)
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 2 TBSP melted coconut oil
  • 1 TBSP apple cider vinegar (I always use Bragg’s Raw and Unfiltered)
  • 1 and 1/2 cups of blueberries**

** I use frozen wild blueberries. They are smaller and more fleshy so they distribute themselves better in the mix, they don’t produce as much liquid and won’t sink to the bottom.

You pre-heat the oven at 375’F.

Whisk together all dry ingredients. Do the same to all the wet ingredients and fold into one another with a spatula. Then, fold in the blueberries. The mix will turn bright purple, but it’s all good. They will still get nice and golden on top when they bake.

Grease 12 muffin tins with your choice of oil (I use coconut). I tend to never use papers for my muffins : I find them wasteful and the muffins, since I make mine almost fat-free, will stick to the paper cups. Fill the tins about 2/3 of the way and send in the oven for 15-20 minutes. Just check with a toothpick or skewer to make sure they are baked through.

Let them rest in the tins for 10 minutes before transferring them onto a cooling rack.

Voilร !

Side notes : I never waste anything : So I always juice the “zested” lemons to make myself a nice big pitcher of fresh lemon water. Also, if you choose to add more maple syrup to make them sweeter, remember that you have to take out some liquid. So here is the rule of thumb :ย For every 1/4 cup of maple syrup added, take away 1 TBSP of liquid. But personally, I would rather drizzle a bit of warm maple syrup on top of the muffin before eating it! ๐Ÿ™‚

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vegan Blueberry-Lemon Muffins

  1. Those look yummy! Thanks for sharing, my little man loves muffins, might have to whip these up on the weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. jemills56 says:

    They look delicious….I can almost smell them ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      I was pretty happy with how they came out. I’m always nervous about throwing together muffins… Some might think they aren’t sweet enough, but I’ve never been a huge fan of muffins that taste like cake.

      Hope you’ll try them and let me know what you thought!

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

