A very much needed week-end of rest – Gratitude

So the game is over, the score has been set : Winter germs 4 – My family 0! After my daughter starting it over a week ago with a very bad case of tonsillitis, then it was my son with a combo of bronchitis and pneumonia, then me with a combo of sinus infection and bronchitis and finally dad with a massive case of laryngitis. Needless to say, this past week-end was about resting, staying warm, sleeping as much we could, eating lots of vegetable hardy soups and scrambled eggs and trying to enjoy a bit of the mild weather we’ve been having finally.

Wash clothes were slowly knitted by drowsy hands, pages were printed and colored, words were read while children slept, letters were written by little hands and mailed out excitedly and an hour of tentative energy led to a little snowy fun.

Sledding

On this Monday, while my daughter is back with her friends at preschool, my son is deep in a peaceful, cough free sleep and my husband is back battling the work force, I’m grateful for :

  • Kids that are the champions of adapting to any situation.
  • A husband that is present and selfless when it comes to raising and taking care of our kids.
  • Parents that always put everything aside to help us out as much as they humanly can.
  • A mother that embraces our dietary restrictions and sees them as a challenge to cook up more delicious foods.
  • A house with a panoramic southern exposure, which makes the living room feel like summer, even in the dead of winter.
  • The sounds of my husband’s ukulele in our home, always making it impossible to not smile.

I hope all your week-ends were amazing…

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Gratitude, Healing, Knitting, Outdoors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A very much needed week-end of rest – Gratitude

  1. So happy to hear you guys are all feeling better and that you got to enjoy some the fabulous weather we have been having. We just got back from a hike and it was amazing. No long weekend for you guys…that is too bad, you should really get Family Day too 🙂

    Beautiful list!

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

