First paper piecing block experience! SUCCESS!!!

Happy Saturday all. I hope you week-end is going well.

I’m beyond excited to share with you my first experience with the one technique in quilting that I was lacking and that, honestly, scared me to little pieces… (get it, pieces???).

I’ve had quite a few people try to explain it to me, I’ve gone online trying to find tutorials that were clear, and I was having issues. The fact that I couldn’t grasp the basic concept of it was making me feel like an idiot and I was getting increasingly frustrated at all these beautiful blocks I was seeing that were all paper pieced.

Well, last night, I finally found a tutorial that spoke to me. Thanks to Vanessa at Crafty Gemini, I got it! Now, mind you it’s not the most complex block I’ve seen, but I did it… Made the 4 parts, put it together, and here we are :

First paper pieced block

I can see why people get addicted to these. They are so much fun!

If ever you are looking for a simple video tutorial to start, here is the link to Vanessa’s. She also has the template in a pdf file free to print HERE.

Now back to making dinner!

To all my quilters out there, what technique have you mastered that used to make you nervous? Which technique are you still hoping to master some day? I’d love to know…

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to First paper piecing block experience! SUCCESS!!!

  1. It is gorgeous!! I have yet to master anything to do with quilting, but it is on my to do list…along with many other crafty adventures πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. My craft corner says:

    Wonderful! i’m just entering the world of patchwork so all info is gratfully recieved πŸ™‚ I will watch the video. beautiful work, just think of all the lovely things you can make now πŸ™‚

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Oh, good luck! Patchwork is what got me started as well. I’m still getting the end of quilting on my domestic (I was lucky enough to work on my mother-in-law’s long arm). Hope you’ll share your first projects!

      Like

  3. cariemay says:

    Oh that’s pretty – I find hexagon piecing completely addictive, but I’ve not tried any other blocks – yet!

    Like

  4. sophiezest says:

    I’ve never even tried quilting (alas). These are absolutely beautiful – well done!

    Like

  5. Kittywilkin says:

    Beautiful! I recently was bitten by the paper piecing bug, and now I’m designing patterns. It is SO fun! I’ve found that the more I practice, the better I’m able to wrap my brain around the backwards, in a mirror-style piecing. I LOVE the potential with paper piecing, though! I’m looking forward to seeing what else you create!

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! I’m looking forward to be able to look at something and create. I love the idea of inspiring myself from things around me.

      For this afternoon, I found a chicken block… That should be funny!

      Like

  6. Kittywilkin says:

    Oh, your question! I was very daunted with curved-line quilting before making a double-wedding rings wall-hanging for my sister-in-law’s wedding gift. I found that once I just STARTED, they were not nearly as hard as I imagined, and for my first one, I think the wall-hanging came out great! I hope to try English paper piecing hexies sometime soon, and one day I hope to master the ability to choose the perfect fabrics for a quilt. I find that to be the toughest part!

    Like

  7. msminnesota says:

    Great job! I haven’t attempted PP yet, but I suspect I should eventually give it a go. Your block looks great!

    Like

  8. wombatquilts says:

    Well done on your first paper piecing block. Now you have joined the “club” there is no turning back (insert sinister laugh).

    Like

  9. Pingback: To-Do Tuesday – February 25, 2014 | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

