Tough Love – A reblog worth reading

I remember once, a few years back when my daughter was not even 2 years old, we were at dinner away from our home. It was late, dinner was barely on the table and she was way passed her bedtime. She was irritable and cranky, not in her peaceful and centered place that she was usually in when it was time for sleep. I had tried putting her down on our host’s bed, tried the couch, tried the pack-n-play, but the only place she wanted to be was in either mine or her father’s arms. There was music playing, people talking loudly, laughter and dishes echoing like bells… and she cried. Cried without restraint, a gut wrenching cry that came from a place of total distress. So my husband and I took turns holding her, letting our meals get cold, walking and bouncing her up and down the hall while we heard the comments coming from the dinner table :

” That kid is gonna run them when she’s older. ”
” What a difficult child! ”
” My kid is able to sleep anywhere, anytime, in any kind of noisy environment. ”
” She is just manipulating them… they need to do something about this now! ”
” They’ve got to learn to let her cry or else they’ll never get to do anything. ”
That night, my husband and I came home a little broken and feeling utterly alone… not because of the apparently “horrible” behavior our child had displayed… because the moment she was home, in the quiet and calm of our walls, she went right to sleep and slept for 10 hours straight… but by the lack of support and acceptance we had received from people we considered the closest to us.

I am reblogging this amazing post to remind all of my fellow positive and mindful parents out there… you are not alone!

Raising Mama

“Tough love,” says the mother as she forces her child to the busy street corner with a sign declaring his sins to the world.

“Tough love,” nods the father as he blasts his daughter’s laptop into pieces and posts the video online.

“Tough love,” applauds the Internet commenters, when a photo of a note goes viral, a note that says “You came home past your curfew, so you can sleep on the porch. You’re lucky I gave you a pillow this time.”

View original post 607 more words

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tough Love – A reblog worth reading

  1. Such an amazing post, love it!!! And so sorry you had to go through that, if only we were supported as parents instead of judged, what a world this would be. xo

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Amen! But it’s all a competition apparently, and all kids are the same so they should all follow the same pattern and development. I’m truly grateful for having found since then parents that are like-minded. Funny enough, my husband gets a lot of prejudice as well for being such a dedicated father. He gets reminded all the time that I’m on maternity leave so it’s MY job to get up at night cause HE needs to work in the morning. Like taking care of an infant doesn’t require the mother to be rested. I’m blessed to have such an amazing partner.

      Like

  2. Tanya says:

    I lost a few friends when I had children. Mainly friends without kids or who didn’t want a friend who put their kids first instead of things and events. The worst critics are those without kids who think it’s so easy just to let a baby cry. What every parent needs are friends who would say “can I do anything to help?” instead of giving their unwelcome opinion!

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

