Teff Peanut Butter Cookies (gluten free)

Hello! Double post today, I know! But we will be busy with family from out of town and rebuilding our living room this week-end so I figured I’d share now a new recipe!

So, although no one in my family is gluten intolerant (or at least, I don’t think we are), we’ve been trying to explore gluten-free cooking often as a source of variety and because honestly, it feels good! We are huge fans of quinoa, rice and millet. We are also even going to try to grow amaranth in our garden this year! But one grain I had never heard of until recently was Teff.

Apparently, according to Wikipedia, Eragrostis tef has been around since as far back as 8000 BC and was an important food source of the Egyptians. Nutritionally, it is insanely good for you, high in fiber, protein and calcium and is gluten-free.

So when I found out that I could buy it bulk near my sister’s place, I immediately jumped on it, brought it home, an there it sat for about 3 months now. Hmmm…

I decided today to go online and look for a recipe. I found this page that had quite a few ideas on what to make with it and the one that stood out was the recipe for peanut butter cookies. Now she gives ingredients, but little instructions, so I tried to play with ratios and here is what I came up with :

  • 1 1/2 cup teff flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup peanut butter (she said chunky, but I used organic smooth PB and I’m happy I did. Much easier to stop the cookie dough from breaking apart when shaping it.)
  • 1/4 melted coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup

I rolled about 1 TBSP of dough in my hand to make about a 1 inch ball and then pressed it with a fork. At that ratio, I made 24 cookies. I baked them at 350’F for about 15 minutes, taking care to put parchment paper at the bottom of my cookie sheets.

And voilà!

Teff PB cookies

They are delicious! They are soft in the middle, they crumble on the edges like shortbread… I adore them! I’m having cravings for french vanilla ice cream with these crumbled on top. Just yummy! And you barely feel bad for eating them, they are almost a power bar!

Hope you guys have a nice week-end!

 

 

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Teff Peanut Butter Cookies (gluten free)

  1. The Editors of Garden Variety says:

    Your cookies look divine! Thanks for sharing your recipe.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Thank you… they’ve been a hit with everyone so far, even my 3yo. But I do have to shout out to the lady linked in my blog for inspiring the recipe though! Can’t entirely take credit for it. I just figured out measures.

      Like

  2. Julie says:

    my baby boy is gluten intolerant, so i’m joining him in becoming GF. (he has this horrible rash that will cover his chin & start to move up to his cheeks if i give him gluten.) i made peanut butter gf cookies today, but they weren’t nearly as yummy looking (or healthy) as yours. [1c peanut butter, 1c sugar (yikes!) & an egg] Have you seen teff at grocery stores not sold in bulk? i’d like to try it. it sounds awesome. thanks for sharing!!

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      You know, I haven’t looked in grocery stores, but I’m sure you could buy it online. I know that Bob’s Red Mill makes Whole Grain Teff Flour. So like I said, if your grocery store doesn’t have it, online stores like Vitacost will!

      Yeah, we try to keep away from sugar that isn’t maple syrup, honey, agave or dates. Oh, and coconut sugar… so GOOD! You should try it!

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

