52 Letters Project – Update

In one of my very early posts, I had mentioned about starting a year of connection through the written word through a project I had found via  Kim at Mothering with Mindfulness called the 52 letters project. In recap, the project is a simple one : Write one letter a week to someone for a whole year. Since I had found the project a bit late, I had decided to start my year on February 1st.

well, here we are 7 weeks later and we are well on our way. Although I must admit, I have taken a few liberties with the project and made it my own. I’ve decided to involve my daughter, introducing her to her first pen pals.

Over the last few weeks, I have been in contact with friends of mine that have children around my daughter’s age, asking them if they would be interested in having a pen pal. Now, I knew that meant involving the parents since most of our children are too young to write for themselves. But the response was very enthusiastic and before I knew it, my daughter had 5 pen pals from Ontario, Pennsylvania, Michigan and Maine!

So needless to say, the last few weeks of the project have been focused on establishing first contact with all these lovely new friends, 3 of which my daughter has never met face to face. This last part has of course introduced a new dimension to the pen pal process, trying to make her understand that it is possible to make friends at a distance through the letter writing process.

Over the last few weeks, I’ve seen an increase in her concentration and focus. I’ve seen her narrative skills improve greatly (since she tells me what to write in the letter, an I do verbatim), she has been tracing letters with much better accuracy and she now has a capacity for answering questions and thinking up new ones, opening up this long-distance dialogue that escaped her just a few weeks ago. Plus, you can imagine the thrill she felt when her first response arrived 2 weeks ago.

Pen pal package

When I first started this letter writing journey, I knew how enriched it would make me feel. Reconnecting with my handwriting, surprising a few people and meeting new friends. But little did I know that I would bring to my daughter such an early gift of openness to the world. To see her bloom through our family experiments is by far the greatest gift.

Do your children have pen pals? How do you make the process unique for them? I would love to hear your ideas and experiences.

Have a wonderful week everyone!

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Letters Project, Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 52 Letters Project – Update

  1. sophiezest says:

    I love this project. (Very) occasionally, I still write letters by hand, rather than emailing. I enjoy it, although it’s very time-consuming; I think getting something in the post is extra-special these days. How times have changed… when I was at boarding school and university, my mother would write to me every week. I still remember the blue paper she used.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Things have changed! I had pen pals from all over the world. Classrooms would sign up to be matched an every student had someone to write to. You went away on vacation and you actually sat down, wrote and sent postcards! I like being able to give a bit of this back to my kids…

      You want a little note from Canada? Email me your address, I’d love to add you to my list! ffff.blog@hotmail.com 🙂

      Like

  2. I am having so much fun with the project, and my little man is too. He has penpals in Vermont and Massachusetts now and enjoys sending and receiving mail. We do much the same, have Reece share what he would like to say, and I write it down. He has made little wet felted hearts and sent them off, and both sets of penpals have been sent rocks. And this week we sent them postcards 🙂 So much fun!

    Glad you are enjoying the project.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      So much fun!

      I’m sure we’ll have more “nature” treasures to share once the snow leaves… For now, my daughter is enjoying crafts. She is quite an artsy little miss… 🙂

      Like

  3. This is a wonderful idea. Thanks for sharing it.

    Like

  4. tinsenpup says:

    What a wonderful idea! I had pen pals from all over the world as a teenager. A few became very close friends. In fact, I still keep in touch with one of them.

    Like

  5. jemills56 says:

    It is a lovely idea to include your daughter in the project and encourage her too to write letters. I still send and receive cards from a girl I met on holiday in Cornwall some 40 years ago. I still get great pleasure in sending and receiving mail with my extended family, though sadly less and less people bother to put pen to paper these days…….a project like this reminds us of the pleasure.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      40 years, that is pretty amazing!
      I know for me, one of the challenges is that I find my hand has become lazy. I use to be able to scribble pages an pages of notes in school, day after day, Now, I sit down to write a one page letter and my hand cramps up after 1/3 of it. I’ve been finding myself knitting between letters to get my fingers back to their nimble selves again. 🙂

      Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  6. Kittywilkin says:

    This is SUCH a fabulous idea! How old is your daughter? My just-4 year old is starting to get into letters, spurred by a gift of a typewriter from my brother, her Uncle Steven. She types letters, but so far, mostly to family members. Many of my friends with kids have younger or just born babes, but I might have to try to take on this project. I will need to take it on with an open heart, so that if it just can’t work, I will be at peace with it. I have always loved letters. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      My daughter is 3 1/2… That is so wonderful that your daughter can already type things out. Mine is just now starting with tracing letters.

      Are you looking for a penpal for your daughter? I know my daughter can’t get enough of it. 🙂 If you think she’d be up for it, email me : ffff.blog@hotmail.com

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

