Going on no sleep and living in our kitchen – Gratitude

Cryptic enough? Let m explain…

The last week has been an intense one. The work on our house has progressed but very slowly. The actual rebuild took the better part of 2 days. The guys were amazing as always and worked with us to try to make the experience as painless as possible, but as I’ve stated before, our living room is half of our common living area so right now, the sofa is in the dinning area, the table and chairs are piled up, the armchair is in the middle of our hallway, all my sewing stuff is piled up in my daughter’s bedroom and the electronics are stashed in our bedroom, which is already over crowed with our son’s crib. Maybe I never mentioned, but our home is 900 sq.ft!

Ceiling Thursday

Ceiling friday

Now for the long part of the process : 3 coats of putty, a surface wide sanding, 2 coats of paint must be applied and then the final clean-up… with the time in between each task required for drying and such, this roughly translates into us having crews in and out of our house at random hours for the next 2 days. My son’s play area has been shrunk to the space between the fridge and the counter (which he is not happy about since he’s just started crawling and can’t explore) and we are left with an area that seems as big as my hand to share meals, play and relax… yeah… relax. 😛 Here is an honest snapshot of our living arrangements right now…

Living in our kitchen

We do have the playroom downstairs, but it is a bit off-limits right now because all things need to be reorganized now that little man is mobile. Little miss is great about sharing, but doesn’t appreciate the crawling terror eating her latest art project!

So, what I’m trying to say is that our home is a mess and it’s taking a lot out of us to keep completely together. And that last statement is mostly due to the fact that our son is still waking up about 12 times a night. We are sleep deprived, he is sleep deprived, our daughter is feeling the tension and reacting to the stress… and all I can think is : Lord, give us SPRING! We just want to be able to go outside. Saturday was such an amazing day, but yesterday gave us another 6 inches of the white stuff so we are meditating a whole lot on centering ourselves through all this turmoil.

So what am I grateful for today? I’m grateful for :

  • A husband that is still 100% with me in all things, even if he has been going through his work days on less than 4 hours of sleep.
  • A cancellation this afternoon giving us the chance to go see our osteopath with our son a whole 2 week earlier than planned. We are hoping she can help with the sleeplessness.
  • Books that awaken my mind, regardless of the hours of sleep I’m lacking.
  • Hand quilting and English paper piecing : Allowing me to pursue my passions, even when my tools are not readily available.
  • Surprise postcards from friends : Kim, your lovely note made my day!
  • A pantry full of yummy ingredients and a web full of delicious recipes to try. (Thank you Briana for the great oatmeal cookie recipe!)
  • Nature bringing tea into existence!

Gratitude Oatmeal cookies

The original recipe asked for arrowroot starch which I did not have, so Briana suggested 2 TBSP of ground flaxseed to create an egg-like effect. They are amazing!

Have a great week everyone… Wishing you warm spring-like weather!

 

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Gratitude, Quilting, Reading, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Going on no sleep and living in our kitchen – Gratitude

  1. sophiezest says:

    Hang in there! Spring will come, and you will get through this.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Thank you… The sun is out today, wind is wicked and the temps are still ridiculously low for the time of year, but the sun is out… The absence of gray always makes things better!

      Like

  2. bitsofthepast says:

    Oh my goodness, remember this will pass!! I love that you still found things to be thankful for even in the chaos. Many years from now, you will look back on this and giggle over the funny events, like your little one eating your daughters artwork. Sending thoughts your way…

    Like

  3. sophiezest says:

    p.s. I’m sure you have thought of this, but have you tried a) aromatherapy (e.g. a lavender pillow) and/or b) massage to help your son sleep? I used to massage my little ones after their bath in the evening; usually a lovely moment, even when they were very wriggly.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Yes… I have tried massaging, but not aromatherapy per say. That could be something to try definitely. The problem is not getting him to sleep per say (he does really well from 8 til about 11h30-midnight), it’s after that : he will start waking every hour, taking sometimes up to 30 minutes put back to sleep and then it starts all over. It’s a phase, I know it is. All children are different. Just got to hang in there! 🙂 Thank you for your advice.

      Like

  4. I enjoyed reading how focused on gratefulness you are to get yourself through trying times, and am so happy you enjoyed the recipe 🙂 are those quilted coasters in your photo? Whatever they are, they’re lovely!

    Je n’ai jamais réalisé que nous pourrions parler en français! J’ai besoin de pratique toujours… haha.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Pas de problème, on peut toujours communiquer en français. 🙂

      Those are coasters that I started this week since I couldn’t use my machine (they are hand stitched) but they are NOT the ones I’ve been putting on my to-do list for over a month now. LOL!

      Merci pour la visite!

      Like

  5. So happy to hear you got the postcard. And so sorry about the renovation that is taking so long. I can imagine that is not easy. Like you we live in a small home and I can’t imagine not having access to parts of it. Hope it is over soon.

    Feels like spring here today, hope it finds you soon. xo

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      So nice and warm here too! Feels wonderful.
      Ceiling is done! Turns out they won’t have to come back tomorrow. We told them we could clean up the bit of mess ourselves. We were done with it. 🙂
      Thank you for your kind words.

      Like

  6. Pingback: To-Do Tuesday – April 1st, 2014 | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

  7. Pingback: Quote of the Day: Cronin | Canadian Macrobiotics

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

