From smooth to rough – his little journey

Breeze blowing wind chimes, the feel of sun on your face,  all quietly – Be. May you find tranquility in all the little moments of your day.

~ Buddhist Quote

Lotion time

I’ve always enjoyed lotion time after giving my babies baths, this is why…

When I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I registered for a baby massage class so I could partake as soon as she was born. These classes were fairly new to our area and they were filling up fast. Luckily, I got a spot and by the time Little Miss was 2 months old, we were on our way.

Well, one of the first lessons they thought us was that a baby should always be awake, conscious and receptive to massage. So the rule was that is your baby fell asleep, you had to stop. Our classes were 75 minutes long and my daughter took to sleeping 60 of those 75 minutes for all 8 weeks of the course. Needless to say, there was a lot of watching other moms in action on my part.

When Little Man was born, I was tempted to take the class again. Hoping this time that it wouldn’t be so “theoretical” and that I would get to practice a bit more. In the end, I opted to pull out my notes and do it from home. Boy, was I happy I did because the second lesson to baby massage is that you should never restrain your baby. If he/she doesn’t want to mellow out to receive the massage, then they should be let free to move around. Well, I would have been watching my boy run around the room over there because from the time he could wiggle, he has been a mover an a shaker. He has little time for thins like massages, he’s got messes to make and toes to grab!

So in the end, baby massage wasn’t really for my kids : that is, unless it was right after a bath. So I took (and my husband took) to taking the opportunity to apply a few of our massage techniques to rubbing in their lotion.

There is a lot you can learn about your baby when applying lotion : You can feel the development of their muscles, find out where they are ticklish. You can discover their first beauty marks, notice their little body hairs darkening. You can count their pudgy little folds and with time, watch them disappear as they grow longer and leaner. But most of all, you can touch with your hands the growing journey into life.

How?

By the texture of their skin. When it happened with my daughter, I think I was too much of a “new mom” to notice until it was done. But with my son, having a calmer, more natural approach with him, I’m feeling it slowly happen. At first it was his face : his little cheeks needing a bit more moisture because he could now bring things up to his face to explore. Rubbing them on his cheeks to discover textures. Then it was his chin, raw from the drool created by his first teeth coming in. Soon it was his hands, where little scratches and marks would appear from exploring his world more in dept, even if it meant going too far sometimes. And now finally his knees. Once little dimpled balls of silky skin, raw from crawling over wood and rugs, toys and mats. Raw from scrapping against the inside of his pants and pajamas.

Skin to me is a wonderful thing : it protects us, it brings our emotions out, it makes us unique, it makes us shine… but for my heart, my “mother’s heart”, it marks time.

Take every moment to see the little things. The little things are what you will remember in the end. And that my friends, makes life the most wonderful of journeys!

Have a peaceful day!

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Buddha, Cultivation, Family Life, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to From smooth to rough – his little journey

  1. We took a baby massage course to when we were waiting for the little man to arrive, loved it. And he was happy to be massaged, usually after bathtime too! We have moved onto “tickle back” now as he calls it 🙂

    You are so right about the changes, a definite mark of change through the weeks, months, and years.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      And they go by so fast… There are a lot of things that I remember from my first year with my daughter, and I have to admit, some things I don’t always “catch” with my son since there is so much more going on now, but some things I actually remember more… I see it as they are a complete whole. Together, I’ll live it all, remember it all and cherish it all!

      Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Sally says:

    Lovely post, beautifully worded, and it’s left me feeling very nostalgic for my days of baby massaging! I didn’t get on very well with the class either, mine was too wriggly as well! So much more rewarding at home.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Indeed! I think when I was a new mom, the idea of being surrounded by new moms was very reassuring, no matter who they were. 🙂 Now, as much as I enjoy getting together with my mommies, I enjoy the time alone with my kids… It’s so different, when it’s your second.

      Like

  3. tinsenpup says:

    This was beautiful. So true and so well expressed. We are all about respectful touch around here, though some are cuddlier than others. I tried more formal baby massage with my big girl when she was new and it used to make her very hyper-active – not really what I had in mind. 🙂 It just occurs to me now, thirteen years later that the oil I was using was probably very high in salicylates (a sensitivity for her, we’ve since learned), which would explain that. Oops! I should try it with our little fellow. I suspect he’d be off and running pretty quick though.

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

