Lost in the blogosphere – Reset Button Please!

“Every morning we are born again. What we do today is what matters most.”

― Gautama Buddha

Reset button

It’s been a rough last week. For the last 6 days, I’ve been dealing with quite a few insane situations here on the home front that have left me with very little time for myself or anything that has to do with the internet, my blog or reading all of yours.

I’m usually really good at keeping up. Reading my blogs, taking the time to comment, pin and share, connecting with my blogging community is something I love to do. I can usually take 30 minutes everyday, have a cup of tea or coffee and just relax. This is what makes me stop and think these days, what makes me think of me.

For the last 6 days, there was very little “me”. First there was mom going to the emergency 3 days in a row with a Little Man that was sick as can be. Then, there was mom nursing him back to health. Then there was mom finding a new preschool for a little Miss that just wasn’t feeling at home in her current one. Later there was mom finding an electrician last-minute to figure out why the lights in the bathroom suddenly won’t come on (the joys of owning an almost centennial home). There was errand-mom, cleaning-mom, yard-work mom and “sleep-is-for-the-weak-next-week-mom”… **

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE being a mom. I would not change any of it for the whole world. But needless to say, my blog subscriptions have erupted in a Mount Vesuvius of activity and I’m finding myself getting buried by the ashes.

So I apologize to all you amazing writers if I seem uninterested or absent. I may just have to start fresh and press the reset button. Starting fresh tomorrow seems like the only viable option because I would be playing catch up for days.

I hope your week is starting off wonderfully, things here are finally calming down. I look forward to reconnecting with all of you and reading about your journeys.

Have a peaceful evening.

** I just wanted to make sure I mentioned that for every errand, effort, sleepless night, hectic day, my wonderful hubby was right at my side. He is my greatest source of strength when times get harder.

 

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Buddha, Family Life, Healing, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Lost in the blogosphere – Reset Button Please!

  1. Hugs. Sounds like a busy, hectic and crazy week. Hope your little man is on the mend now and that you find some time to chill with a cup of tea. xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thanks Kim, he is… finally started eating again! That was scary… He didn’t have anything but a few ounces of breast milk a day for more than 3 days. I’m making myself tea as we speak and will be doing a quick look through of the 100+ blog posts I’ve received alerts for. Yikes!

      Wishing you a lovely week! xo

      Like

  2. Merri says:

    Hi, You are doing it all the right and beautiful way….family first, and blog second . Those of us who do follow your beautiful blog certainly have been through the same thing. I love your photos and your recepies and mostly the love that comes through this blog for your beautiful family. Enjoy many cups of tea…a quiet read of your favorite book, feet up, bubble bath…..then the blog will fit in later perfectly again—it is right place. Blessings to you all–Merri

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      You are so very sweet, thank you so much for the kind words. It is my fault really for allowing myself to feel like I’m letting people down. This blog has felt like such an amazing conversation with new found friends that I feel I’m leaving the conversation hanging. 🙂 But I know all will understand.

      Thank you for reading my musings and I’m so happy you enjoy this little space of mine.

      Wishing you a very lovely week.

      Like

  3. mountaingmom says:

    Big hugs! Deep breath and reset. It sounds needed.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you… it was! Things are better now. Little man is healing quite nicely and his smile is back on. That was the hardest : My perpetually happy little man, miserable for so long. Looking forward to a week of new routines and challenges!

      Like

  4. Angel Jem says:

    We’re virtual; little Man is reality. We’ll still be here when you need us and have something to say but when Life says stop, wait and watch (for good or bad) a wise woman listens and lives.
    Btw I’m a newbie to your blog via Joshua’s site. It’s really good to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you… And thank you for stopping by and your kind words! I’m kind of a newbie at blogging in general and I’ve found it very liberating. Not to mention a great new way to meet people. Looking forward to stopping by your blog as well.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Like

  5. sophiezest says:

    Hello Yanic, I don’t think you should feel that you owe the blogosphere anything. I love reading your blog posts and your comments on my blog, but ‘real life’ comes first (although real friendships can be formed in the virtual world, I think). I’m sure you are nurturing your family in the best possible way. I hope you all get some sleep now and feel refreshed for the week ahead, after a hectic and worrying few days. I wish your little man a swift recovery!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I know I don’t owe anything, I just feel like I’m “not returning a phone call” in a way. LOL! I feel the same about friendships. I’ve formed pretty amazing bonds of support and inspiration with so many of you. It,s a wonderful experience.

      Like

  6. cporzio says:

    Cheers, I think I know what you talk about. Tomorrow will be a better day!

    Like

  7. appleshoe says:

    Hello, I think we’ve all been there, I’m sorry to hear your wee one has been under the weather and hope your little man is feeling better. Hopefully you can find just a little “Me” time. I know it can be hard, but it is so important and helps keep you from wearing down. Even if it is just a split second to step outside and take one deep breath before plunging back in to the demands and calls of life. Be well.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you! Actually did this morning… after dropping off Little Miss at preschool, came home to a Little Man asleep in his stroller. So I parked him in the backyard and made myself a cup of coffee (yes, tea just doesn’t cut it in the morning these days) and sat in the sun with a book for an hour. Felt wonderful! 🙂

      Like

  8. Oh man, I feel for you! Hope your little guy is feeling better and you can get some much needed time to breathe.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      He’s feeling much better! I noticed this morning that in all the craziness of the sickness, we never noticed a fifth tooth coming out. No wonder his little body just can’t stand itself anymore! But he’s got his smile back, so that to me is everything! Thank you for the well wishes!

      Like

  9. We do miss all the positive joy your likes and comments bring! Hoping circumstances get a little less hectic for you soon, and maybe you can find some time to run yourself a relaxing bath and reconnect with you 🙂

    Like

  10. Love you inside and out xoxox

    Like

  11. Shanda says:

    I feel the same way sometimes. I was just thinking this morning that I’ve only had time to update my own blog lately and not visit my friends like I love to do. Thank you so much for stopping by my site, I hope that your daughter gets used to the later days and sleeps better, too. Hugs.

    Like

  12. Here’s hoping that reset button got pressed for you 🙂

    Like

  13. pamelabanis says:

    Hugs and healing thoughts for you and yours

    Like

  14. Reading through the comments, I’m glad your little one is feeling better. It’s so hard when they’re sick! Hope this week is much better!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It’s already much better! Little Man is feeling much better, Little Miss is in love with her new preschool and mom got to actually finish a novel that I had been reading 5 pages at a time for months. 🙂 Successes all around!

      Like

  15. I’m so sorry, and I hope the little one feels better soon!

    Like

  16. bitsofthepast says:

    A mother’s job never ends. That can be great but oh so very exhausting. Family comes first, and I am thinking of you and yours as you try and settle down. Hope your little guy is doing much better and your daughter is feeling more at home.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Things are much better thank you! Little Miss loves her new preschool and Little Man is close to his old self again. It’s been warm and we’ve started harvesting some of our garden (asparagus and herbs). We spend most of our evenings out now so that is so much better for everyone’s moral.

      Wishing you a wonderful end of the week.

      Like

  17. sally says:

    So glad your little one is feeling better, it sounds scary. And the reset button sounds like a good plan! I’m playing catch up a bit this week too, but maybe not with such valid reasons! Anyway, hope you’re now getting a bit more sleep, relaxation and even a bit of ‘me’ time again.

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

