New beginnings and garden eatings!

Happy mid-week everyone.

I’m happy to report that everyone in our lovely household is feeling much better this week. Our Little Man is healing quite nicely and his convalescence should be over by Saturday. His appetite is back, he’s been happy and giggly and we’ve been having fun again.

Playing with balloons

Our morning routine has dramatically changed since yesterday. It used to be that our Little Miss and her dad would leave together around 6 h 45 am in order for her to be at preschool at 7 h 15 am and dad at work around 7 h 30 am. Needless to say, mornings were rushed and we had very little time to spend with each other.

Now that she has started at a new preschool that is literally two street corners away from our home, mom and little man get to walk her in the morning. That gives us the freedom to leave around 7 h 45 am. She is in school by 8 am and I calmly walk back home with the boy.

It’s a lovely place, housed in one of the old ancestral homes in the heart of town. She is adjusting, but genuinely seems happy. Picking her up tonight, I watched her play with a new group of friends. She was so engrossed she did not see me there. I think that is a very good sign! Oh! And did I mention kids bring their own lunch-boxes? I got to prepare my first school lunch last Monday night. Not sure I was quite ready for it emotionally, but I feel like I have so much more control over her health now. It’s a fantastic feeling!

preschool

Today, the weather surprised us again and what should have been a rainy day turned into warm and cloudy with sunny breaks. I got to work outside quite a bit and pick our first ingredients for a nice hearty spring inspired meal.

First spring bounty

I could eat dandelion leaves in just about everything. Tomorrow, I’m thinking of going out into the yard and picking a huge bowl of them to freeze. That way, I could have them for smoothies, stews and soups, even after the season has passed. And yes! Those are the first 5 asparagus that were ready for munchin’.  We also got thyme, marjoram, rosemary and Greek oregano out of our beds to make a lovely tomato sauce. Add sautéed Portobello mushrooms and some nutritional yeast and you have a perfect one pot meal. One pot meals are a favorite in our household : Minimum dishes, maximum flavors!

one pot meal

Have you started eating out of your garden’s bounty? Please share!

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Food, Gardening, Healing, Life, Outdoors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New beginnings and garden eatings!

  1. How lovely to have that extra time in the morning, I bet it feels so much nicer. We enjoyed food from the backyard for dinner last night, as well as food from last summer’s harvest. It was pretty cool!

    Like

  2. I was nibbling on the radish sprouts when I thinned them yesterday, does it count if the food doesn’t make it to the table?

    Like

  3. pamelabanis says:

    Not much out of our garden yet. Although, the farmer’s market has a few items. Our housemate planted tomatoes this week, and tended to the raised beds. About the dandelions, any suggestions on harvesting for optimal flavor?

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      When they are very young, before the flowers come out. That is what I was told. As much as I love them in salads, I’ve loved using them in cooked meals. The flavor is so lovely. So far I’ve had them in tomato sauce, crispy on top of pizza with goat cheese, in omelets… I’ve loved exploring with them! 🙂 Let me know what you make!

      Like

  4. Caren says:

    You’ve intrigued me with those dandelion leaves… Hmmm… Can you post about a recipe that you use them in?
    As for garden goodies, I haven’t eaten anything out of the garden yet (because nothing has been put in the garden yet, lol)… BUT, I have FINALLY started weeding and tilling and ordered my seeds 😀

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Well good! At least there is progress. 🙂 What will you be planting from seed?

      For the leaves, I don’t really have a recipe. I just add them to pretty much anything I’d add greens to. Do you like arugula? Cause I find them to be a good substitute so anywhere you would put that, try dandelion leaves. 🙂 This morning, I piked a nice big bowl and I will freeze them tonight to put them in my smoothie tomorrow morning. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. sally says:

    Lovely to see him smiling again, and your new morning routine sounds so much less stressful. I’m sure just eating greens fresh from the garden makes life that little bit better too.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It is so enjoyable! We actually have time to do crafts in the morning, chat and connect. She gets to relax an eat at another pace than rushed. I think it was better for everyone this way.

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

