Discovering our plot – The woods at the end of the yard.


IMG_6941 IMG_6942

Late afternoon, walking home from preschool, my daughter asked me if we could please spend more time outside. Well, anyone who has read my blog before knows just how tickled I was by the request! When we got home I dragged the fireplace out of storage and we lit our first fire. It was tough going, the wood still being damp, but we did manage to get it started and it burned warm as my daughter and I picked dandelion blooms to dry for infusing our first dandelion oil.

IMG_6943 IMG_6946 IMG_6947 IMG_6948 IMG_6949 IMG_6950 IMG_6951

The end of our plot has a little wooded area. This is the 3rd summer in our home and since most of the work we had done was on the garden beds and flower beds, we had left the woods untouched, only to be played in a bit, crunching some leaves when fall came. Another reasons we hadn’t attacked it yet is because half of the trees are dead. They will need to be cut down and right now, the brittle branches are more of a hazard than an attraction. But this summer, we decided to really venture in.

How amazed were we at what we found : Trout lilies, covered in leaves, unable to flower. Ostrich ferns, in our yard! Also buried under decomposing leaves. How amazing will it be to watch them multiply and have them feed us in spring little by little in the coming years. And a whole stand of wild raspberries, hidden under grass debris, waiting to be let out into the sun, hopefully healthy enough to bear fruit. My daughter returned to snuggle in a blanket by the fire, excited by the prospect of foraging for food in HER woods. It was a wonderful moment of discovery.

IMG_6952 IMG_6955

IMG_6957

During this time, my peaceful little Buddha of a boy roamed the grounds, picking blades of grass, giggling at birds stopping by our feeders. And it was while retrieving him under the apple trees that I noticed the tiny little bloom buds, promising breath taking beauty in the days to come.

Life is a wonderful thing.

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Food, Gardening, Nature, Outdoors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Discovering our plot – The woods at the end of the yard.

  1. I love peaceful moments outside. Parenting is easier outside too… don’t you think?! Everyone is just all around happier. I keep on thinking I need to live in a warmer climate – a place without winter. Although snow can have its joys (I just don’t like 6 months of it).

    Dandelion oil – that sounds interesting.

    Wishing you a lovely evening.
    xoxo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Oh, it is! It just seems like they are so much more of their own person out there… The walls being gone frees them. It’s wonderful to watch!

      Yes, I’ve been trying to make the most of our “weed” friend this year! We ate dandelion leaves in just about everything early spring and now, I’m trying to make the most of the flowers. From what I’ve read, dandelion has amazing anti inflammatory properties for muscle and joint ache.

      Hope you had a lovely evening as well!

      Like

  2. It certainly is. And the beauty, strength and resilience of nature never ceases to amaze me.

    Like

  3. karen says:

    I love this time of year when plants, trees, and flowers are sprouting and the weather is okay enough to be outside. You have lovely children 🙂

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you… they are my world! I have wanted them for so long (getting preggers was not easy) and now, I’ve become completely and shamelessly devoted to them. It’s a wonderful job, I would not trade it for anything. 🙂

      Like

  4. sally says:

    Your fireplace looks amazing, and how wonderful to have those woods to explore and even more discoveries to find.

    Like

  5. Beautiful! You have a lovely space as well. Glad to have found you.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you for stopping by! It is definitely a work in progress… but the progress is quick and soon, we’ll have our little piece of heaven. 🙂 Have a lovely Sunday!

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

