Spring cooking – Sea salt, cracked pepper and Parmesan roasted asparagus

I’m thinking it’s not just me, but after a long winter of canned and frozen foods, grocery store imports and over priced produce, spring brings out the purist in me. The moment spring delivers the first fresh garden treasures, I have a tendency to limit my cooking to a few traditional ingredients and leave the vegetable (or fruit) speak for itself.

It’s asparagus season here and local vendors have started selling their crops. (Our patch is already gone if you are wondering!) Last week I laid my hand on a few amazingly generous bundles of fresh picked emerald beauties and they have been keeping fresh, standing in a container of water in our fridge door. Even 5 days later, they are still as crisp as they were when we bought them so needless to say, we have been eating them with much appetite.

Tonight, I made one of my favorite recipes :

Sea salt, cracked pepper and Parmesan roasted asparagus

roasted asparagus

Preheat oven at 375’F.

In a large enough bowl, lay a handful of asparagus down and drizzle with about 2 TBSP of olive oil. Sprinkle sea salt, fresh cracked pepper and Parmesan cheese to taste (you could use vegan Parmesan if you want to avoid dairy) and mix with hands until the asparagus are coated and the ingredients are evenly distributed. Lay flat on a cookie sheet and roast in the oven for about 10 minutes. The asparagus should be slightly golden, but still firm.

I’ve served this with poached eggs and toast. Tonight, we ate these with goat feta, basil and sundried tomato stuffed mushroom with fresh toasted oat bread. They are also delicious on top of Alfredo sauce.

Hope everyone is enjoying the richness of their spring bounty, whether it be your own or your local farmers!

Sweet dreams everyone!

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Food, Garlic and Onion free cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Spring cooking – Sea salt, cracked pepper and Parmesan roasted asparagus

  1. Oh my mouth is watering. We have yet to enjoy the first local asparagus of the season, I am hoping to find some at the market this weekend…fingers crossed.

    Like

  2. mountaingmom says:

    Oh my, I so love asparagus prepared any way but canned. I have enjoyed every fresh local bunch I could obtain. I really must get my own bed going soon.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      You should… it’s long before you can pick them though (3 to 5 years depending on whether you buy crowns or start them from seed) but SO worth it!

      Like

  3. simplydelish says:

    Wow these look to die for, great photo!

    Like

  4. mmm. We’ve been enjoying it, too, but not fresh from our garden. I made some with mushrooms a week ago. Just pan-sauteed with … a lot of butter! Tasty. 🙂

    Have a great day.

    Like

  5. Angel Jem says:

    Mmm. Gorgeous. I’m the only one in the house who eats asparagus so it’s a solitary pleasure here, but I love to have it just fried in a bit of olive oil, sprinkled with salt and an egg, cooked soft, to dip it in. Bliss x

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

