Rain rain – Stay a Day!

I won’t lie, I’m happy about the rain forecast for the next few days. For the last week or so, they kept announcing showers, but we just weren’t getting them. Every morning, I would wake up hoping for a soaked yard and garden, but everyday the hose would come out and I would have to water… I’m one of those true believers in “no matter how much you water a garden, nothing beats a down pour”! A perfect summer for me would be a day of heavy rain every 5 days :

We would never have to water, resources would be under utilized…

The humidity index would always be low, the air rarely muggy…

We would sleep well…

We would have an excuse to stay in and cuddle, read, drink tea and just be together once a week…

Our pool would always be at perfect level…

The roads would never be dusty, no kicking up sand and dried dirt when biking or running…

My kids would get to regularly jump in puddles, their most favorite thing to do…

Everything would be lush and green, renewed and fresh…

IMG_7068 IMG_7069 IMG_7071

 

Give me 12 hours of rain every 5 days in spring/summer time, and I will never complain about the weather. I will be a happy me…

Wishing all of you a lovely day… rainy day if this applies to you! xo

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Life, Nature, Outdoors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Rain rain – Stay a Day!

  1. Lisa says:

    I’m down with that. You can tell who the gardeners are because we love it when it rains. I remember several years ago, every day they predicted rain and every day it didn’t rain where we lived. It rained all around us, but not at our house. We had a good soaking the other day and we have more rain predicted today. I haven’t gotten my garden all planted yet, but mostly.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I try and plant when they announce rain. Which is what we did Sunday because it was supposed to rain Monday… 72 hours later, FINALLY!

      Yes, you can totally see who the gardeners are. LOL!

      Like

  2. The rain has moved on from here, and I, like you, was happy to see it. The gardens really needed a good soak, and they got it. This morning everything looks so lush. And I think you are right, a good rain once a week would be just about perfect!

    Enjoy the rain. xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      As I’m reading this, the sun is breaking through the clouds… But that is okay! It rained for a good hour this morning and we should get more tonight and tomorrow.

      Enjoy your day! xo

      Like

  3. Kristin says:

    I completely agree! But here in So CA that’s not gong to happen… 😦

    Like

  4. bitsofthepast says:

    I love it when it rains. Unfortunately, we now live in a high desert, so the rain shows up behind the mountains, but not in the front, where we are at. But I do love to see the clouds build up over the peaks, and it makes me happy knowing the mountains are getting their share of water. Enjoy your day snuggling!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you… less than an hour after I wrote my post, the sun came out. LOL! Ah well, the ground and gardens still look refreshed so I’m happy. As soon as our pull is up in temps, I’ll love my hot summer days. For now, the water is still freezing! 😛

      Have a great day!

      Like

  5. mountaingmom says:

    We got a good morning soak and have heavy storms due tonight and more showers tomorrow. No watering for me today;-)

    Like

  6. Rain gets in the way of some projects, but I love to listen to the sound of it. And I’ve noticed that a run or a hike in the rain can be even more satisfying than one in good weather! 🙂

    Like

  7. sally says:

    I wonder if there is a place anywhere in the world where the weather is perfect. Where Autumn days are crisp and clear, Winters are mostly mild but with just enough cold, snowy patches to satisfy us (ideally around Christmas!) and Spring and Summer are warm/hot with rain when required. I reckon probably not! But then it seems to be human nature to moan about the weather so I’m sure we’d find a problem with it anyway!

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

