The promise of fruit – My less intensive gardening

Vegetable gardening demands so much tending and monitoring that I sometimes forget that we also have fruit growing… And they are so easy to forget in the moment because they just are, happy and growing, not really needing us. Only when I get a craving for fruit right off the vine/branch do I remember that my yard is filled with little sweet wonders.

IMG_7296 IMG_7297 IMG_7298 IMG_7300 IMG_7301

 

I’ve been keeping a close eye on the wild raspberries growing everywhere on my property. There will be so many! Our little blueberry bushes, although very young, will offer a few handfuls this year. We will be moving them to a sunnier location and investing in a few more come early fall. The strawberries are finally showing signs of reddening. This is our 3rd year of growing them and we have yet to eat one. They have been a feast for the mice and voles so we finally transplanted them in containers and it seems it has done the trick! Our few surviving plants are pushing out and my daughter is thrilled. Our 4 year old Dolga crabapple has found its rhythm and I’m happy to say all apple jelly made this year will come from our own backyard. All the branches are as filled as the one above and I stopped counting little tiny apples at 100. And finally our gooseberry tree, easily lost among the day lilies an irises in the front yard is filled with fruit, all starting to turn that luscious golden/reddish hue. Only our ground cherries seem to be having issues this summer, but there is still time. We can’t have everything be perfect… now can we?

Wishing you a wonderful first evening of July. Happy Canada Day again to all my fellow Kanucks and be safe in your celebrations.

Good night friends…

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Nature, Outdoors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The promise of fruit – My less intensive gardening

  1. Tiffany says:

    Happy Canada day! That fruit looks so yummy! Lucky you! 🙂

    Like

  2. Love the pictures! We have been talking about getting fruit trees and some blueberry bushes. Still in the talking phase but hoping that we’ll start our own little orchard someday in the not too distant future! 🙂

    Happy Canada Day, my friend! xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      That would be awesome. We have 2 pear trees (too young, but getting big!), 1 plum, 1 apple and 1 crabapple. The apple tree has produced ONE apple. It’s strong and perfect an getting there. My daughter made me PROMISE we will eat it together all 4 of us. LOL!

      I hope you get your dream one day! 🙂

      Like

  3. Eli Pacheco says:

    You’re in for quite a harvest!

    Like

  4. Yay for fruit!!! Happy you will finally get some strawberries this year 🙂 Happy Canada Day!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      You can only imagine how sad my daughter was last year : Every time we went to bed with a strawberry almost ready to pick, we’d wake up the next day to it having been eaten out… She checks on her strawberries every hour. LOL!

      Like

  5. Looks very yummy! Our mulberries are ripening but the birds eat them faster than we do…

    Like

  6. bitsofthepast says:

    Love fruit! My cherries were eaten by the birds! So sad, but I have enjoyed my strawberries and looking forward to putting them in my salad tonight. Wonderful photos!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Awh… that is too bad. Like I said to someone else, could you net a part of your tree for the birds to not have access to some?

      Mmm… fresh strawberries in salads! 🙂

      Like

  7. Pingback: Sweet reward! | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

  8. Sally says:

    Fruit is my favourite part of the garden – probably because it is all so much less intensive! Yours is all looking gorgeous.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I know right? My husband and I are starting a class in permaculture and hope to turn our gardens and plot into a soon-to-be almost self-sufficient space. Hopefully all our garden will eventually become less intensive. 🙂

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

