Portobello mushroom gravy – Vegan (Onion and Garlic Free)

I don’t know how many of you are familiar with a dish called “Poutine”. For many french Canadians, poutine is considered a national dish of some sort. In its best form, we are talking homemade thick cut french fries, gravy over fresh out of the brine cheese curds. It’s salty, it’s fatty, there is nothing healthy about it and it’s sinfully good! Now, if you are a vegetarian, you don’t want to eat this in restaurants because the gravy will mostly likely be made with animal stock (either beef or chicken). But if you go through the aisles at the grocery store, you can sometimes find powdered sauce mix that are vegetarian. I’ve seen some that are even vegan! But nowhere have I found some that is garlic and onion free! That means my husband and I had not eaten for almost 2 years… Until last Saturday night! Cravings happen to the best of us and when you get a poutine craving, there is just nothing you can do about it. LOL! Believe me, we’ve tried! So after the kiddos were in bed (they went to bed early, we had a BIG day!), I set off to make my own poutine sauce and what I came up with was delicious! I basically tweaked a few mushroom gravy recipes I had done in the past to make them a bit saltier and a bit thicker. But the result was so good that it will now be my official mushroom gravy for meals to come. IMG_7317 Here we go :

Portobello mushroom gravy

  • 1 cup of chopped mushrooms. (I used Portobello, but you could use button or coffee mushrooms as well.
  • 1 large branch of celery, finely minced
  • 2 TBSP of vegan spread
  • 2 1/2 cups of vegetable stock (Now this is my part for the onion and garlic free. I use stock that has no Allium in it that I buy at the Asian market. You could make your own stock, but if you buy vegetable stock at the grocery store, it will most likely have Allium in it.)
  • 1 TBSP Braggs Sauce (or any good quality soy sauce)
  • 1/2 TBSP Apple Cider Vinegar (I always use the Braggs Raw)
  • 1/3 cup of flour (I used unbleached white)
  • 1/2 cup minced fresh herbs (I use what I have on hand. But the 2 herbs that I would never go without are sage and thyme. Just perfect flavors for it. But this time, I have thyme, sage, greek oregano, curly parsley and basil.)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

In a large and deep skillet, sauté mushrooms and celery in the vegan spread until juices are released. I sautéed for about 3 minutes. Add the vegetable stock, vinegar and Braggs sauce and bring back to a simmer. Slowly add the flour, whisking constantly to avoid lumps. Keeping it at a simmer, let is gently bubble for a few minutes for the sauce to thicken. Add the fresh herbs, salt and pepper and simmer again for about 5 minutes. Finally, blend everything and return to skillet before serving. Delicious! I had some leftover after our fancy poutines and will be making roasted vegetable kabobs over lentils and rice for dinner tonight and will be re-heating the rest to serve. Been enjoying cooking again (now that we are having cooler temperatures for a few days) and I’m glad I got to share a little bit of my kitchen with you! Have a great week everyone!

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Garlic and Onion free cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Portobello mushroom gravy – Vegan (Onion and Garlic Free)

  1. The gravy sounds very good, and I’ll have to use mushrooms next time I make it! May I ask, is the garlic and onion omission due to flavor preference?

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      No, it’s due to spiritual belief. As Tao cultivators, we are observing the strict “purity of mouth and body” vow where we restrain from all intoxicants and what Buddhists call “the pungent foods” which are believed to bring about feelings that go against inner peace (anger, hate, rage, lust, etc.) 🙂

      Plus, my husband was never really good with the digestion of them.
      Let me know if you try it!

      Like

  2. Oh my goodness – I love poutine (and I crave it ALL the time).

    I would have never thought of a portobello mushroom gravy! This sounds dynamic! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. Pinned!

    Wishing you a lovely day.
    xoxo

    Like

  3. Ema Jones says:

    Fond of tofu?
    I tried Vegetables Stir-Fry with Tofu – Vegan recipe
    http://bit.ly/1e4ibxF

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I am… a lot of people tell me I shouldn’t be… I only eat organic non GMO stuff and I don’t eat it like everyday so I don’t believe it would cause that much issues. My kids adore it. They would eat just that I think! LOL! The recipe looks amazing. I’ll have to save that one. It’s simple, as you can probably tell from my recipes, I like simple! 🙂

      Like

  4. bitsofthepast says:

    My mouth is watering! Sounds so delicious. I am a gravy girl, Midwest born and bread, so I am curious about yours. Sounds enticing and heavenly. I will let you know if I try your recipe!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Please do! My hubby is from the States and from rural PA, very meat and potatoes people and when we were there for Thanksgiving last year, we made out own vegan seitan “turkey” loaf with nut and rice stuffing and mushroom gravy. Everyone laughed at us throughout the whole process because we were making it… until they smelled my gravy. LOL! I can tell you right now, most of the turkey eaters had vegan gravy on their plates! 🙂

      Like

  5. sophiezest says:

    Never heard of poutine, but it looks like something we would definitely enjoy! What is Braggs sauce, though?

    Like

  6. jbsavage says:

    My husband would love this. Thanks!

    Like

  7. Oh, yet again I have to remind myself not to browse through cooking posts on an empty stomach! 🙂 This looks absolutely scrumptious! 🙂

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

