{ This moment }

{ This moment } – A Friday ritual. A single photo – no words – capturing a moment from the week. A simple, special, extraordinary moment. A moment I want to pause, savor and remember.

 If you’re inspired to do the same, leave a link to your ‘moment’ in the comments for all to find and see. Inspired by SouleMama.

IMG_7830

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Herbalism, Homesteading, { This moment } and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to { This moment }

  1. sophiezest says:

    Oh so pretty! But is it balm of some sort?

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Yes… That was my first batch of dandelion salve and some more calendula bloom for drying. My herbs have been growing at a ridiculous rate with all the sun. But my dandelion oil had been ready for weeks, I just hadn’t bought the proper containers for it yet! 🙂

      Have a great week-end!

      Like

  2. I love handmade products like balm. Very nice!

    I went to a writing retreat in the Adirondacks. This is how I spent my early mornings. http://robinfollette.com/early-morning-lakeside-writing/

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I’m just learning. This was my first time. I tried growing my own herbs this year. Some went did really well (like my calendula!), some not (chamomile got attacked by aphids), but it is so much fun.

      On my way to your moment now. Thank you for stopping by! xo

      Like

  3. Kim says:

    Yay for salve making! It looks lovely. I was straining comfrey and yarrow oils last night, can’t wait to make my healing salve when all the oils are ready.

    Have a wonderful weekend. xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Just found a huge patch of yarrow growing wild near the bike path. Came home with a bowl full. It was a fun experience for sure! Can’t wait to make more. Actually making my plantain salve this week-end. 🙂 Have a great one friend! xo

      Like

  4. lilaeve says:

    Ooo, Yanic, this is lovely! What do you use dandelion salve for? I’m pretty clueless when it comes to homeopathy (would you consider this salve part of homeopathy?), but would like to learn more! Did you post your recipe? 🙂

    Here’s our moment! http://walterandlila.wordpress.com/2014/08/01/this-moment-52/

    Have a lovely weekend!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      This is the recipe I used for the salve. It’s dandelion. http://thenerdyfarmwife.com/dandelion-salve-recipe/ I infused dried dandelion blooms in organic olive oil for 6 weeks. Smells so good!

      It’s been fun! I’ve been learning a lot by just going online. So many people make their own herbal remedies. It’s very inspiring. I love learning about all the “weeds” that are little gifts-from-God! I take walks and pick up the weeds most people want to get rid of. LOL!

      Have a great week-end!

      Like

  5. alexa says:

    Your salve looks like sunshine in a tin! Especially with those flowers beside it!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you! The oil was so dark (I used olive oil) that I never thought it would come out so light. But it actually has the color of dandelion blooms. 🙂 Smells delicious too. The calendula will be for lip balm and body butter. So much more dried and waiting to be dried. It’s been a good calendula year!

      Thank you for your visit. Have a lovely week-end!

      Like

  6. Wow, it looks beautiful! I would love to learn how to do that…

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It’s much easier than I thought, you should try it. I was so prepared for fuss and a big ol’mess, but no. It was simple. Tons of beautiful recipes online too. You should give it a try!
      Have a great week-end xo

      Like

  7. Janet says:

    Beautiful picture, Yanic 🙂 Just gotta love God’s Creation!! He gives us so much to work with!!

    Like

  8. oh that’s beautiful!

    Like

  9. Oh, calendula! I’ve made baby oil with it before–it’s very fun to work with flower petals, I think! Have a nice weekend!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I agree! I’m still trying to figure out how to get all the little minuscule buggies out of the flowers before drying them. Not so easy sometimes, but I’m getting there. I want to make calendula body butter for my babies (and us) as well. 🙂 It’s been a great learning experience. Have a wonderful week-end!

      Like

  10. sally says:

    It looks brilliant, so glad you’ve got to the results part of your herbs and remedies. Something I’d definitely love to try, I must do some exploring online.

    Like

  11. You’ve inspired me to add more herbs to my gardens next year!! Thanks for stopping by again to say hello. Have a wonderful weekend!! : )

    ~ Wendy
    http://Crickleberrycottage.blogspot.com/

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Awh… I’m glad. They are just such an amazing asset to have growing right in your yard. 🙂 They are great companion plantings for vegetables as well so winners everywhere! 🙂

      Thanks for visiting. Have a great week-end.

      Like

  12. KC says:

    Yummy! Calendula. I bet that smells wonderful.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It does… But the flowers that are drying are not the ones I used for the salve. It is dandelion. The oil had been infusing for a while. Next step is the calendula though! 🙂

      Like

  13. Oh, that looks divine!

    Hope you had a lovely weekend, my friend! xo

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

