The Tarp

Our tarp has been around since my hubby and I have been married. First serving as ground protection while we were painting the walls of our first place as husband and wife, it quickly became the tarp for everything : Working on bikes, spray painting hardware, my husband painting with oils long into the night, you name it.

IMG_7882

 

Since Little Miss has been old enough to do crafts, our tarp has now become a symbol of creativity. Every time it comes out, great things happen. Whether it be play dough, clay, collages or paint, this loyal king size sheet has been there for us, ready to help and inspire beauty.

Tonight, it was paint.

We have many kinds of paint, but water colors seem to be a favorite here. Maybe it’s the ease with which the colors blend, maybe it’s the delicate nature of the technique, but whatever it is, it is quickly brought out of the art cabinet when a nice evening of creation is requested.

When I bought materials, I went for the old school hockey puck size color pastilles. I remember using these in grade school. So rich and vibrant. And paper we could share is the best kind of paper. Family art projects are truly the best.

IMG_7886 IMG_7887 IMG_7888 IMG_7889 IMG_7892

 

Have a wonderful evening everyone.

Do you have a favorite art medium? What faithfully comes out when an art session is in order?

 

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Art, Family Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Tarp

  1. Merri says:

    Hi…I love this! ai too had my dad’s tarp from our resort for years. It had so much paint on it it was stiff. Lovely memory for sure. And such a darling picture the little one made there. Lovely…SHe is so darling….you are a blessed family. I love your blog and your yard and your way of life and your wonderful ideas as well. Thank you for sharing it with me….I will be thinking of our tarp today too. I do not have it, but it is in my heart for sure. Good night. Merri

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you for sharing your story and your kind words. It’s funny how little things like paint marks can evoke such vivid memory. We’ve actually tried to wash our tarp before. It barely took away a few marks. Like yours, ours cracks in places. Every once in a while a chunk falls off and a little part of me is sad. ut it is making way for new memories now that the little one is closer and closer to making art of his own.

      I truly am blessed. Thank you again for stopping by! xo

      Like

  2. Kim says:

    That will be a tarp to treasure πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. bweist says:

    Wow, those paints are great! I need to find some of those! Just at the regular craft store? BTW, your daughter is quite the artist!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      To be fair, some of those are mine… but YES! Most of them are hers and she is showing great ease and talent. She takes that from her dad (it being evident since most can’t tell my paintings from hers! LOL!)

      I went to a school art supply store. But I’m sure you could find them online. The bran is Ocaldo paints. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. This reminds me of a large sheet I’ve been using for my painting and projects since I was 12… ironically, it is also turquoise πŸ˜‰

    What lovely talent and creativity your daughter has!

    Like

  5. sally says:

    Lovely painting, we like joint efforts too. And our favourite paints are very similar to yours, I love them because they’re so quick to get out and get going with, and the potential for spillage and mess is not so big. My kitchen is usually messy enough without paint mess on top!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Oh yes… another thing I love is when we accidentally (or not so accidentally) the colors mixed up, you can just take the puck an rinse it out! Brilliant!

      And yes, same here on the messy kitchen. LOL! But to be fair, it’s often messy with art stuff. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Pingback: Welcome fall | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

