Little glimpses of fall

IMG_8203

IMG_8209

IMG_8204 IMG_8205 IMG_8206 IMG_8207 IMG_8208IMG_8210 IMG_8211 IMG_8212

 

Although most of nature is lush and green still, everywhere I turn, I see little glimpses of fall. We’ve been feeling it in the mornings and evenings for a while now : The shift in light, the warmer clothes, the breeze that smells like the colors I love so much. (Yes, I smell colors in fall, it is my super power!)

The goldenrod in our little wooded area is prime for picking and our blueberry bushes are slowly putting on their fall coats. The buckwheat husks are also ready to collect for seed, buckwheat being our favorite cover crop for spring. We also planted a row of bush beans late August, hoping for a little fall crop and apparently, our gamble has paid off.

Beds have been emptied (for the most part), soil is being packed in and fall crop cover are being planted. This year, we are trying a mix of white clover, winter wheat (which will over winter and grow next spring) and fall rye. In 3-4 weeks we will be turning in all that nitrogen fixing power, along with a full load of fallen leaves, hoping to make our soil that much better next spring. We will admit, we were lazy with amending this year and you could tell by the end of the season. Live and learn!

In the one bed, we still haven’t cleared out the plant life. Although some of it is over grown and going up in seed, we still have Swiss chard, Lebanese cucumbers and ground cherries being picked every day. But in one week time, even those will be gone. And then planning and organizing, dreaming and plotting, will be on the menu for the next 5 months and OH! How I love that part of the year too. And thanks to Isis from Little Mountain Haven and her latest post, now we have new books to consider as we are putting together our first gardening journal!

Finally, I’m amazed at the ongoing vibrance of my first planted-from-seed medicinal herbs. Especially the calendula and anise hyssop that I’m actively harvesting everyday still. My kitchen herbs will be ready to be brought in for drying and my lavender should be ready to infuse in oil in just a few days.

Although things have slowed down, I’m still loving the process. There is something calming about the year winding down. And anyway, fall means apples fresh from the tree! An that alone makes the cooling of the season not so bad! What do you think?

IMG_8188

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Food, Gardening, Herbalism, Homesteading, Life, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Little glimpses of fall

  1. Eli Pacheco says:

    I envy your harvest! Here in carolina, the red clay is so difficult to transform into fertile ground. And I’m still waiting for crisp air – it’s not here yet.

    Like

  2. Fall is definitely in the air here too, and we are loving it. I don’t really have a favourite season, there are things I enjoy about every season, but what I really love is where we are right now, the in between. The shift from one season to the next, that is my favourite. As we say good bye to one, and welcome to the next there is so much hope and possibility, and dreams about what is to come. Definitely a wonderful place to be, and I will soak it up as long as I can.

    Have a lovely day. xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It’s one of those “desert island” kind of things for m. I have so many things I love about every season, but if I HAD to chose one, it would be fall. But like you, this time of fall… I love September and early October the best. We should truly be enjoying every aspect of it this coming week-end : We are traveling North to take the kiddos to a zoo that specializes in indigenous species and you travel through the enclosures on a train like a safari. We have to drive through the Laurentian Reserve for over 3 hours : Mountains, Trees… Maybe a few flurries? An the colors will be well under way there. Cannot wait…

      Have a beautiful day as well and thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  3. karen says:

    this is my favorite time of year, and you captured the change of seasons beautifully. I adore the last photo 🙂

    Like

  4. Stunning photos. I look forward to one day having a garden as extensive and fruitful as you have worked so hard to grow! The hints of autumn around my back yard leave me feeling a bit glum and missing the strong summer heat that never really arrived.

    Like

  5. sally says:

    Autumn is lovely, but I am always so sad to see Summer go. It’s very much not too hot here in the Summer and we love it so much where we live. We’re enjoying some pretty good weather round here still at the moment so we’re holding on a bit longer. Autumn can wait!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Well, then I hope for your sake that summer persists! 🙂 Keep having fun in those waves. I’m sure that if I would have the ocean so close, I wouldn’t want fall to get here either. 🙂

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

