The time I like the most – (Guest post by my super hubby)

Hello All, this is the other half that Yanic mentions from time to time on her blog. As you all know if you have read the post here, Yanic is suffering more than just a bit right now.  I have been helping by helping where I can : cleaning here, cooking there, making her sit down and asking her to not feel bad about it, sometimes with a grumble and grump as she walks away, but none the less doing it eventually. Since she started the blog, she had mentioned that maybe I could post something at some point, a DIY or something similar. Which I will do one day 😉 but for today, I figured I would share a bit of an interesting story that got me to thinking about how our family is growing.

So a simple break down of the story is that I was chatting with a co-worker (literally “chatting” as she is in Romania and our paths cross in our chat program at work) and we often ask about one another’s plans for the weekend. Well this weekend is a special one for us, since we are taking some time for mama and papa, with the grace of my wonderful in-laws, and having a little date night. We are heading to a spa for a few hours and will probably stop after to grab a dessert and maybe tea somewhere. Well when I shared this piece of information with my co-worker, she had asked a question I wasn’t expecting : She was curious to know if in the course of our relationship, I could say that I liked our time together as a couple more as none parents than as parents.

218014_18904743616_1722_n

207679_18903678616_1755_n1930666_36202378616_502_n

As my brain churned through all the wonderful memories that Yanic and I have built over the years that we have been together, up to and including the birth of our beautiful children, I realized that it was impossible to say that I prefer one to the other. My answer honestly was that through the time of finding one another, going through the cliché honey moon period and getting and passing the classic 7 year itch in our marriage still scratching only one another’s back (me a bit more due to the ever-present itch that your lady garments provide), I realized that just like our environment, our children, our friends and family are ever-changing, so too is our relationship with the one we love. There will always be hills and valleys in any relationship, but it is my belief that it is how the couple adapts to those situations and one another that build that relationship. I have found that in the time of the children arriving, it is very true that we have less just “us” time. Most of our date nights and wedding anniversaries recently have included getting some massive grocery shopping done or completing some arduous task that we knew the kids would not be patient through. But that doesn’t make me any less happy with my partner. If anything our kids complete what was missing for us, they are some of our greatest teachers and believe me, ask Yanic, they teach dad a thing or two every day, usually relating to relaxing or smiling or appreciating the smaller things… and my honey throws in on these lessons as well to make sure they sink in. Often times what we experienced during the day with the kiddos leaves Yanic and I reflecting at night, knowing we made the right choices in life. Loving where our adventure has taken us so far, and waiting patiently (sometimes impatiently … the kids get it from somewhere you know and it is not the neighbor) for where this adventure called life is going to take us.

192561_10151273374413617_1864116987_o1395832_10151964790288617_980360931_n

So sorry for the long-winded post, but with my love and her arm needing rest, I was hoping to hold this blogosphere of hers, as well as hoping that she relaxes her arm for another day. Not the easiest thing to do with the active little man we have. So with this post, I’m just hoping to inspire all of you out there that are now a family to not forget the foundation. Sometimes it is important for those parent times, even if they are few and far between. As well, hopefully this will conjure up some memories to share with the kiddos as they are growing. Making them feel how much they help to complete this relationship that we thought couldn’t get more perfect.

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Guest post and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The time I like the most – (Guest post by my super hubby)

  1. sophiezest says:

    Thanks for this post! I also enjoy hearing about your lives and insights. It was great to see the ‘other side’, and some photos of you all! We also have much less time for just the two of us, now that we have children, and sometimes wish that we had had more time as a couple before having the children. We would have loved to travel or do other things, but I was 35 when we got married and we didn’t want to leave it too long before trying for a family. So when we do have a date night or manage to get a babysitter, we really appreciate it and make an effort. I even dress up and (gasp!) wear make up sometimes. And we sometimes wish for some peace and quiet, for a weekend where we could have a lie-in and not be woken up by the two little alarm clocks…But the truth is that when we hear about our friends who leave their children for two weeks with their in-laws so they can go on holidays, we thing ‘well yes, that would be great…for a little while’ because basically, we like spending time with the kids! Wishing you a lovely Sunday.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thanks for sharing a bit of insight. I can remember the first time we left our in laws when it was just us and little miss. We spent the entire night thinking that we heard cries coming from her room, needless to say I think we go less sleep that night than if she would have been with us. Completely agree that sometimes it would be nice to sleep in, sometimes we hide under the covers and imagine that they are just not there, that is until they start tickling us on the feet :). We love those little ones, we have a hard time being a few hours without them, let alone a whole day or weeks. (Jason)

      Like

  2. arlene says:

    Lovely share of family life and adventure 🙂

    Like

  3. And this is Something Beautiful!

    Like

  4. sally says:

    As well as helping out with housey and childreny jobs you’re helping out with the blog too – very impressive! And also feels very appropriate for this space where family is obviously so important. Interesting question too, although it feels tricky to even remember pre-children times now!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      We feel very much the same way, in that we couldn’t imagine our lives with out the little buggers there. They make the world a new kind of wonderful for sure. And not to toot my own horn, but I even got some homestead and specific sewing table almost complete this weekend as well. 🙂 (Jason)

      Like

  5. Love this post and seeing pictures of you all! Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with all of us Jason! It’s fabulous of you to help her with this space too while she’s not at 100%. Hoping you feel better each day, Yanic! Sending lots of love your way!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thanks, I love helping all of my family out where I can. And I know that it has been havoc on her arm to write. It was a pleasure to share, not that the nervous pants are off with helping her out here. You all may begin to see a bit more of me as time permits. (Jason)

      Like

  6. How sweet! And what an awesome hubby you are! And you guys have such abeautiful family. Sending Get Well wishes to Yanic!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you very much! We are definitely blessed to have such a wonderful life. She is slowly recovering it is just too bad the weekends couldn’t be as long as the weeks then I could help out a bit more with the kiddos and get her in full swing sooner. (J)

      Like

  7. alexa says:

    Just read about your elbow and hoping you recover, Yanic. Definitely not fun, and extra so with young children. My husband has a similar condition and when it gets bad for him, he’s out for a while. (Incidentally, he swears by wild oregano oil.) I love this piece your husband wrote. Very eloquently put. We’ve been experiencing the same here – if the foundation is built solidly, it absorbs everything that life brings in building a magnificent edifice.

    Again, hope you’re up and at ’em soon!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Hello Alexa.

      First, my hubby says thank you for the kind words. It’s wonderful to find so many like minded people.

      For myself, thank you for the well wishes. I’ll definitely try the oil. It’s very slowly getting better. But it’s not fast enough for me. I’m not very patient with healing.

      Hope you are having a lovely start to the week. xo

      Like

  8. bitsofthepast says:

    So beautifully put! It is so good hearing your perspective. We feel the same way. It is so nice to have breaks from the kids, but really, we look forward to just hanging out with them. Our lives have grown from conscious of just ourselves to conscious of three more people and an appreciation of the world around us. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you very much, it is crazy to ponder sometimes what life was previous to our little bundles joining us. We believe that we live a full and complete life and I am not saying that most don’t. There is just a different sensation in way that they make our life reverberate on a different level. (Jason)

      Like

  9. bweist says:

    While we miss Yanic’s voice, it is lovely to meet another part of her family and see pictures from your “previous” life. I have a photo album online that I call “pre-kids” that I posted to sometimes look back and remember what life was like before. I love being a mother, but it is life changing. And sometimes those adventures and those people we had just a few years ago… they seem an eternity away. But never one we would trade. So nice to meet you, Jason. Take good care of Yanic. I know how we mamas have trouble sitting still and letting someone else take care of *US*!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It is fun to think back on the memories, we had many friends that we have lost contact with through becoming parents. Everyone says that kids are life changing, I don’t think we realize to what magnitude until we are head deep in it though. Thank you! (Jason)

      Like

  10. What an awesome post! I love the changes that time brings in our life and relationships–priceless, really.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      They truly are a blessing in disguise, I think sometimes we take them for granted, or don’t take the time to admire, with the fast past world that we have constructed. It is nice to be made to ponder…

      Like

  11. That’s a sweet post. You are lucky to have each other.

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

