Crafty Q & A Blog Hop

So last week, the wonderful Kim from Mothering with Mindfulness tagged me in a Blog Hop Q & A that I’ve been itching to respond to. If you don’t know her blog, you really should! Took me a few days to get some projects started to actually make this fun, so here it goes!

What am I working on?

For the last few months, my “crafts” have been gardening, baking and cooking, food preservation and just enjoying summer and fall as much as I can.  Although we did not get the yield we hoped for in our gardens, we did manage to can and preserve a decent amount of food for the winter months. I’ve also managed to cast on a few knitting projects and started making salves as my oils have been ready. As for quilting, much of my patterns and fabrics have been chosen, I’ve even managed to start sewing a baby quilt and the start of a table runner, but cutting is an issue and I still have to show my husband how to use the rotary cutter. I’ll be trying my hand at little peg people for my daughter for Christmas this year. I have everything I need, just need a few more weeks to get full mobility in my right arm and I’ll be good to go!

IMG_8786 IMG_8817

How does my work differ from others?

I would say it doesn’t really. I’m not trying to put my work down, I’m just very new at all the homemade-handmade thing so I’m blessed with very inspirational people who amaze me and guide my creative hand. I guess the only thing would be that my work is very freestyle. I’ve always had a bit of trouble following a “recipe”. So whether it be a pattern, some instructions, unless it is going to completely ruin it or make it unsafe (like with canning food), I tend to get inspired, but then improvise.

IMG_8806

Why do I create what I do?

Mostly because I like to own things with soul. I love handling the raw material in my hand, I love knowing the work that went in it. It is also the reason why I love places like farmer’s markets, fairs, online shops like Etsy. I love having a relationship with the people who give to us through their passions, their life’s work. And that to me is important for my children to learn as well. I make food from scratch because I want to be in control of what goes into my family’s bodies. But I also want my kids to see, smell, feel the ingredients one by one, telling them where they come from, why we use them. It is also about being mindful of the precious nature of handmade-homemade goods. My children watch me knit, watch me sew. They might ask me one day why I spend so much time on a quilt when I could just buy a blanket at the store. And that day I will tell them no matter how much I spend on a blanket in the store, it would never be as filled with my love as the one I made. I don’t want my children thinking it’s okay to break a toy because it came from the store and we can just go get another one. I want them to look at every piece they own and think : Someone made this, someone gave me this, it is worth respect.

How does my creative process work?

I’m ashamed to say that I don’t really have one. I get inspired by just about anything : Something I see, something I hear, something I taste or smell. So many amazing resources out there, it is easy to just get inspired in a few seconds. I am very unorganized because I get so little time to myself that when I do have some time, I need to have something ready to go. Which means, I usually have a million projects started because if I only have 15 minutes, I’ll knit a few rows, but if I have a few hours, I’ll sew a few blocks. When crunch time comes around, I will resort to lists. But I try to steer clear of them in general. But with starting our homestead this year, I’m seeing a lot of my crafting becoming “practical”. Not that it is less fun, but they have become less of a luxury. Time cooking won’t be spent on a single meal, but creating a range of yummy foods for the week for example.

IMG_8805

Thank you so much Kim! This put me in such a great mood and kicked my behind into gear for my fall projects. resting is important, but creating heals the soul!

Now my turn! I would like to invite the following lovely ladies to hop on in :

If you have never visited their spaces, please do. Three amazing ladies, so talented.

Hope everyone had a wonderful week-end!

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Blog Hop, Crafting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Crafty Q & A Blog Hop

  1. sally says:

    Lovely post, and yes, there is always so much love and thought that goes into home made. Hoping that arm is quickly on the mend so you can push on with all those plans.

    Like

  2. Thanks for playing along Yanic, so lovely to learn more about your creative process. Those pantry shelves look beautiful 🙂

    Hope you are resting that arm of yours. xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you! We are pretty happy with our pantry as well. Oh, an we aren’t done! We still have to get our load of fall veggies (squashes, carrots, potatoes, rutabaga, beets) at the farmer’s market. We still have quite a ways to go and no more space on the shelves. Looks like we will have to improvise some space for all those pint jars.
      I am resting… I’ve been able to pin point what really hurts and what doesn’t. That has helped a great deal!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sophiezest says:

    I LOVE the look of all those jars! You must feel full of anticipation every time you look at them! I really enjoyed reading your post And thanks so much for nominating me…I have a pretty busy week coming up but I’ll do my best to post asap!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Take your time, it too me almost a week. I can’t wait to see all your current projects! Hopefully you’ll include some of the yummy meals you’ve been trying out.

      Oh yes, we actually cracked open the first jar of jelly and the first jar of salsa this past week. So yummy. 🙂

      Like

  4. mountaingmom says:

    Wonderful post. Enjoyed your answers and love your putting by and crafts.

    Like

  5. bitsofthepast says:

    Great interview! Loved hearing more about you!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Moving along… | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

