Welcome to Winter and the Light returning…

IMG_9482

IMG_9489

IMG_9491

IMG_9485

IMG_9503

IMG_9509

IMG_9519

IMG_9521

IMG_9523

IMG_9537

Yesterday was our first Winter Solstice… at least it felt like our first. It was a quiet and soulful day. Little signs everywhere that this path we’ve chosen is the one for us : Perfect snowy day, mild temperatures… We saw old friends waddling along one of our favorite paths, even a beautiful barred owl watching us stroll the grounds. We decorated our tree with treats for our woodland friends, dug out a little pit in the backyard and enjoyed a fire at sunset. We stayed out, talking, laughing, playing, singing until night came and our Little Man was just spent. Inside a warm hearty meal was waiting for us. We ate, then drew by candlelight, read books and snuggled in bed. The house was quiet, peace was all around us. Little Miss wished us a final “Happy Solstice” before laying her head down to sleep, already filled with ideas for our celebrations next year. Our hearts were full.

Welcome back winter dear friend, may your calm and peace fill us.

And welcome back light, slowly warm our homes and souls. Slowly bring summer back to us.

Happy Solstice again everyone. Wishing you cozy and peaceful holiday season. I’ll be taking a small break for the next few days as we countdown until Christmas. Please be safe in your travels, especially on the East Coast on North America. Enjoy your friends and families, hold them close in your hearts. ❤

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Family Life, Holidays, Life, Nature, Outdoors, Winter Solstice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Welcome to Winter and the Light returning…

  1. KC says:

    Oh it looks like a wonderful celebration! And you had snow. Now that I am back on the internet I look forward to catching up with all the posts of yours I missed. 🙂

    Like

  2. kja1130 says:

    I get a little sad when the winter solstice arrives, I like how each day is a bit darker. Love the photos and the outing! I heard my owl last night and wished I could catch a glimpse of him/her.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It was my first owl sighting. I’ve heard them multiple time, but first time just watching one. I just couldn’t believe it. 🙂

      Wishing you happy holidays and owl sightings. xox

      Like

  3. Carlin says:

    Sounds perfect! I am so jealous of your beautiful snow ~ enjoy your week together.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It has been amazing. And the weather has been perfect so far… not really perfect in the upcoming days, but I’ll pray the rain and heat don’t melt it all.

      Have a wonderful holiday season. xo

      Like

  4. What a perfect day. I knwo you enjoyed every moment! And I am so jealous of your snow.

    Like

  5. mountaingmom says:

    Wonderful looking day. I am ready for lengthening day.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Me too… I’ve already pulled out our new seed catalogs. It will be the beginning of our season of dreams. Dreaming of the year to come and all it’s wonders.

      Have a wonderful holiday season. xo

      Like

  6. A lovely celebration, that looks like it was well enjoyed. Happy Winter solstice, and all the best to you and your family for a wonderful holiday week. Enjoy your Christmas and soak up the goodness this time of year offers. Much love. xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      We already are, thank you. It was strange, talked to my sister about a possible outing with our niece on Boxing Day and she told me she couldn’t even THINK of after Christmas right now, she didn’t even know if she would get everything done FOR Christmas… It dawned on me : I have zero stress. It’s a wonderful thing.

      Have a wonderful holiday dear friend. Much love to you and yours. xo

      Like

  7. What a beautiful Solstice celebration! Could you please send some snow our way! We are really, really missing it!

    Winter Solstice is easily one of our most favorite holidays. It’s so us. Not at all commercial or stressful! One year I hope to have a bonfire outside too!

    Also, would you be willing to share your bird feeder recipe with me? I had a good one from a few years ago and cannot find it so I’m on the hunt for a new one!

    Happy Winter Solstice! xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I wish I could some down, but honestly, the pictures are very deceptive… we have about 1 foot. LOL!

      Unfortunately, I pretty much winged the recipe, but it was about 1/2 cup chunky natural peanut butter, 1/2 water and 1/4 cup coconut oil melted in a pot. Then we added what we had on hand : Corn meal, black sunflower seeds, raisins, millet and oatmeal. We pressed everything down in oiled muffin tins (it made 9 very full ones), pressed in fresh cranberries and the strings and put everything in the freezer overnight. 🙂 There you go! Hope this helps. You could also press the mixture into cookie cutters to get various shapes.

      Have wonderful holidays dear Shel… much love to you, your hubby and the girls! xo

      Like

  8. barnraised says:

    Happy Solstice! We, too, celebrated …by making a gingerbread house and a quiet evening of star gazing. Wish we had snow though!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      How wonderful… we would have loved to watch the Ursid meteor shower since it was new Moon, but cloudy all the way here. Seems you can’t get it all huh? I’m afraid of losing all our snow. They are announcing a very warm spell and so much rain. But we’ll make up for it I’m sure. It is Canada after all!

      Wishing you wonderful holidays! xo

      Like

  9. So lovely! I too am taking a step back from the computer for Christmastide, so I wish you and your beautiful family a wonder–full holiday and look forward to catching up in the new year.

    Like

  10. sally says:

    What a wonderful day, and a lovely tradition to look forward to each year now. I love the look of on of your books from your last post too – Winter is the Warmest Season, think I may have to try and get my hands on that. Happy Christmas to all of you, hope you have a wonderful holiday time XXX

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It was. We already have plans to add little things next year. Including possibly inviting friends to our bonfire.
      Merry Xmas to you and your lovely family Sally. Have a wonderful holiday season.

      Like

  11. Monica G. M says:

    oh it sounds like such a lovely day. all that snow! how could the little ones not be joyful in that? candle light just demands magic and soul doesn’t it?

    blessings to you and yours for the year ahead.

    http://www.inkandchai.co.uk

    Like

  12. appleshoe says:

    A beautiful ritual. Our plans all fell through. The weather shifts have been playing havoc with my Ehlers. I love the picture of your wee one content and asleep in your arms even though you are out in the snow. Beautiful.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I’m so sorry you all were feeling under… I hope you are feeling better now and that the holidays are being good to you all.

      There is something about kiddos here sleeping in the snow. My parents have pictures of me, fast asleep in the snow. Now I have pictures of my darlings doing the same. Always seems so peaceful. 🙂

      Like

  13. Pingback: Respite | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

  14. Pingback: Spring Equinox and so much happy mail! | Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

