7/52 – Her & Him

A portrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_0313 - Copy

Little Miss : Although it has still been so cold, the sun has been warming our home and our hearts. There is a spot in our living room, by the window, where the sun gets so hot, it feels like summer almost year round. That is where I saw you today, playing  and calmly soaking it up. You have been so brave and so tough this winter, I’m so proud of you.

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_0309 - Copy

Little Man : You found your spark again this week-end, after 2 weeks of intense sickness. Your little cheeks, burned by the countless nights of fever, are slowly healing now and you are smiling again. It makes my heart melt to watch you push through the illness and come out stronger, wiser, more grown up somehow. Mama cannot stop you from getting sick, there will always be a little bug somewhere, but she can promise she’ll be there to help you through it whenever you need me.

 Joining Jodi for the 52 Project

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Project, Family Life, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 7/52 – Her & Him

  1. Oh that sunshine looks so lovely. Wonderful capture of your little miss. Happy to hear your little man is feeling better, his poor cheeks look a little tender.

    Hope you guys had a good weekend, and are staying warm. Have a lovely start to your week. xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Kim… I was so thankful for the sun lighting up our faces and home today. The week has been hard but we are finally coming out of it. And yes, those poor little cheeks. I’m out of ideas for getting them back to normal. I’ve tried everything from natural oils to prescription barrier creams. The cold isn’t helping poor darling.

      Hope your week-end was great and that your week is a wonderful one as well. Good night!

      Like

  2. carlin says:

    Love the light in the photos, especially the first one.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      The sun was just amazing this week-end… Even just sitting in the car, we had to undo our scarves and take off our hats. That is when you know spring is coming for sure. 🙂

      Have a wonderful week. xo

      Like

  3. The sun gives us energy and life! Though still cold, the sun feels like a promise that better and warmer days are coming! We may not be plants, but we still thrive when bathed in sunny rays!

    I love this project and how you notice and celebrate every detail of your children’s growing up. You are building some strong, wise and kind people there! Go momma! ❤

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you… I just give a shout out here to the lady that started the project, Jodi from Practicing Simplicity. I was just lucky enough to stumble upon it through other wonderful bloggers.

      I fully agree about the sun. My daughter always notices it in the mornings now. She’ll say “The sun is shining!” She doesn’t ask is it cold. She’s just happy with the light. 🙂 My son has been getting lost in sun patterns on the walls. He’s also playing with shadows. It’s a beautiful time of year. xo

      Liked by 1 person

  4. sophiezest says:

    Glad to hear your little man is getting better. I love the light on both these pictures.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Sophie. Oh yes, it,s been a long and hard battle this time around. 2 rounds of antibiotics back to back is more meds than he’s taken in his entire life, but the second one did the trick in days. He’s sleeping again, eating again, full of energy. Makes the whole household happier. 🙂

      Like

  5. Shel says:

    What gorgeous photos! I love them both but there’s just something I particularly love about the first one, though I cannot put into words what it is! Just lovely! xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Shel… it’s very hard to get a “natural” looking picture of my daughter these days. She’s in the cheesy-grin phase so many portraits come out kind of goofy looking. LOL!

      Hope you have a wonderful day!

      Like

  6. appleshoe says:

    Awe, I love the way the light caresses your little Miss’s curls. So sorry to hear your little man was sick for so long, but glad to hear he is doing better. We would take the pain from their little bodies if we could. It’s been a rough winter for you. Be well.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      You are so very sweet… yes, I’ll even admit the winter has been unforgiving, but it,s all part of growing for them : Building their immune systems and all. Spring will be here before we know it and we won’t even remember all this. 🙂 Have a lovely week dear friend. xo

      Like

  7. Carie says:

    Oh what lovely pictures, especially your little girl in the sunshine – it must feel so nice to be in short sleeves when it’s so cold outside 🙂

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It does… it happened again today, the weather outside was about -25’C with the wind and the inside of the house was 23’C… And not because we were heating, all from the sun hitting the southern part of the house. Just an amazing feeling. 🙂 Thank you for the kind words, have a wonderful week!

      Like

  8. remmus26 says:

    Oh I love these!! Sun kissed and gorgeous ! Both of them!!

    Like

  9. Chelsea says:

    Beautiful portraits- I’m so glad they are feeling so much better. We have a sunny spot like that too and I find myself there often!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      You know, in those little nooks, if you close your eyes, it feels like summer has already arrived. 🙂 Warms me all over, a total recharge.
      Have a wonderful week Chelsea!

      Like

  10. In both photos you captured the light brilliantly! Your daughter looks lost in thought and so pretty sitting and being. Your son’s eyes sparkle and I bet you are glad he is on the mend.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I am… that spot in the living room is our saving grace this winter. The warmth is just enough to make us forget the bitter cold raging outside most days. Today was amazing though. We spent over an hour outside. I can feel spring around the corner. Thank you for the kind words. xo

      Like

  11. Yanic, I have a few blogging (well deserved) awards for you. If you like, check them here: https://deliciouspeaceofmind.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/bunch-of-awards/

    Like

  12. sally says:

    What gorgeous light, definitely a perfect place to sit. Hope your little man is still on the mend, so hard when they catch a few bugs on the trot or just one very lingering bug.

    Like

  13. Susan says:

    These are just beautiful, Yanic. I love the way the sun caught their faces. I hope your little fellow is feeling better. As a mother, I know it just breaks our hearts to see them sick.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Susan… He is feeling MUCH better and back to his old self. My daughter on the other hand has a double ear infection. This winter has been a heavy one with lots of bugs being brought home. I for one am ready for spring. 🙂 Hope you are having a nice week. Stay warm!

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

