11/52 – Her & Him

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_0539 (1280x853)

Little Man : We took it slow this week. You deserved it. I let you lead most days, following not far behind, but letting you have your way. The weather was more forgiving, we even had a day when you didn’t need mittens. How you played with the ice and snow, and how wonderful that warm pasta in your hands must have felt coming in. There is a sense of peace that has come over you the last week… Like you finally understand that we are all on the same page. You seek us out instead of retreating, you drag us into your world instead of fully losing yourself in it. You know that we at long last know! Life is sweet… ❤

A portrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_0432 (822x1280)

Little Miss : This week has meant a lot of new things my darling and I know you are doing the best you can. All this new learning we’ve included into our lives has been sometimes met with resistance, but more often, it’s been met with excitement. I know it’s been hard for you, I know you often feel powerless. But we know it’s the exact opposite. You are your Little Bro’s superhero! And although he can’t say it yet, you have to know all those kisses mean he loves you most of all. ❤

 Joining Jodi for the 52 Project

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Project, Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 11/52 – Her & Him

  1. sandra says:

    Peace and joy, voilà ce que tes belles photos m’inspirent !

    Like

  2. What lovely captures Yanic. Glad the weather is getting better for you. We have enjoyed a lovely weekend and the week ahead is looking very spring like 🙂

    Have a great week!
    xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Oh, the week-end was much different here : Huge snow storm, over 50 cm of snow. But it’s sunny now and we are heading out for an after dinner walk. Thank you for the sweet word. have a lovely week-end my friend. xox

      Like

  3. Mandy says:

    Change is hard for some kids. Good luck with it & hope she takes it all on with gusto.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      My daughter is a bit of a control freak. So not knowing how to communicate with her little brother is beyond her comprehension. I don’t think she understands her own feelings about it yet. It feels like a game to her most time, learning sign language, slowing her speech, getting down to his level for him to see her face… It’s a lot of work, even for us, so for a 4 yo, it’s torture. She,s been waiting for him to say her name since he’s been born. She dealing with her grief the best she can. Thank you for your kind words.

      Like

  4. oh oh, it looks like someone likes pasta…!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Oh yes! We’ve slowly been eliminating gluten (testing both my son and husband for troubles) and have been putting tomato sauce on other grains and it’s been making the transition easier. But oh yes, that lunch was corn flour penne pasta with homemade tomato sauce and he was THRILLED! 🙂

      Like

  5. sally says:

    Love your photos, especially the tomato sauce! And your words, particularly with your daughter, made me feel quite emotional, in a sad/happy way! I’ve just been commenting on your most recent post and it was part of what I was trying, not very successfully, to put into words, maybe now is just the optimum time for you all to be dealing with this, maybe you’re all now at the best point of readiness for it. I can imagine how hard it is for your daughter, and how hard for you to give her everything she needs at the moment, but how can she possibly not feel reassured by all the love around her XXX

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Sally… I think of all of us, it has been the hardest on her, but we try our best. Just another little shift in our routine : I think it will be important to carve out time just for her. I think those mommy-daughter/daddy-daughter times will be the most important and if we fully commit to her during those times, they will last in her mind. You know? But how she loves those little knee kisses from her brother (he has this thing with kissing her knees)… 🙂

      Like

  6. That tomato sauce all over Little Man’s face really made me laugh! He is adorable and perfectly portraying love for pasta. Hold on, you are in challenging time, but being brave, full of love and understanding (as you always are) and you more sunny days are coming your way. Love! ❤ Milica

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

