Spring Equinox and so much happy mail!

Sorry I’m a day late, but I want to start by wishing you a wonderful Spring. I hope you all enjoyed our first day and wish you a quick thaw (for all my friends that are buried in snow like us right now) and productive magical Spring!

Our celebrations were very quiet since Little Miss had school that day. We woke up to a very chilly -16’C (3’F) morning and a table full of goodies from the Spring Fairies. My daughter, who has been mourning the loss of her favorite wand (Little Man took a chomp to it a few months back) was excited to find a hand carved one given to her by the fairies themselves. Can I tell you how much she is wishing away the snow right now, ready to put some of her own magic into our home?

IMG_0620But the day of giving didn’t stop there! All day was like Christmas here. We felt spoiled, loved… it was amazing :

IMG_0612 (2)I’ve mentioned my good friend Kim here many times. Such a thoughtful, inspirational person, I feel blessed to know her. Well, her and her son went down to South Carolina for a few weeks earlier this month and her son decided to share part of his sea shell collection with my kiddos. You can imagine the amount of cheer, fascination and joy that was present in our home after that!

IMG_0618IMG_0619But wait! Another box was waiting for me this time and it was, I knew, going to be a very “sweet” surprise! A few months back, Vibeke over at A Butterfly in my Hair hosted a very fun chocolate swap! I was paired with the lovely Di from the UK (you need to check out her blog, amazing talent!) and received the most generous swap package imaginable. Not only was it filled to the brim with wonderful, interesting, quirky chocolates (including a vegan chocolate for my little boy to share!), but she also included handmade embroidered pieces, fabric art, beautiful fabric squares, a fun felt art kit (which my daughter has already proclaimed hers! ) and a notebook that I will treasure and use very carefully. Again, thank you so much my dear!

IMG_0621Another package that was waiting for us was from my dear cousin and his wife that live in Michigan. Always selfless, always thinking of us, they sent us a little something to help with the transition. I couldn’t believe just how generous they were yet again. How could I ever feel anything else but so supported and loved.

IMG_0622And if all this wasn’t enough, guess what I’ll be reading this week-end?

So all around, a wonderful start to this new season full of hope and rebirth, dreams and awakenings, color and light!

Oh, and continuing with our tradition, just as we were lucky enough to greet winter on Solstice Day with a barred owl sighting, during our after dinner walk last night, we heard the first, deep soulful calls of the North American Mourning Doves.  Hiding in the tall ancestral pines around our property and neighborhood, they were calling each other, in the quiet dim of the sun setting. A beautiful, heart-felt cry. It was so mesmerizing, even the children held still.

My friends, even if it doesn’t always feel like it, Spring is here. Do not despair, look for the little things. They are changing, shifting, transforming, becoming… before you know it, the warm will return, green will appear and the long winter will be a thing of the pass. Enjoy those last cozy snuggles under quilts, by fires. Soon it will be iced tea and salads for dinner, the smell of flowers and the buzz of bees.

Have a wonderful week-end everyone!

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Gratitude, Life, Seasons, Snail mail SWap and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Spring Equinox and so much happy mail!

  1. remmus26 says:

    What a magical first day of spring indeed!! The shells from Kim are so lovely! She has got to be the most thoughtful person ever! 🙂
    And is that a French bulldog painting? (Maybe a fabric painted bulldog?)
    Love all your goodies!!
    Wishing you and yours a lovely spring!!
    P.s. Ellie loved baby signing time. They were fantastic!

    Like

  2. Yay the shells arrived, so glad your kiddos enjoyed them. A chocolate swap…hmmm, not sure how I missed that one, what a great idea. And such lovely goodies that came along with the chocolate. My Taproot is sitting right here, I am hoping to sneak out tomorrow morning to a cafe for a little tea and reading 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend Yanic. xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It’s a wonderful issue so far… I’m hoping for a few more quiet moments tomorrow as well. Today, I actually got to sew! That is right : ME SEW!!!!

      Don’t tell Reece, but he has something coming to him. 🙂

      Like

  3. barnraised says:

    Seashells, chocolate, friends and family that understand and want to help,…does it get any better? Here’s to a bright, fresh and magical new Spring to you!!! We, suddenly, hit 70 degrees here today. Almost hot for us!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Honestly, if it got any better, I think I would explode! LOL! Lucky YOU! Oh… to feel 70 degree weather. That is the stuff dreams are made of right now. We got another 3 inches last night and it,s -25’C with the wind right now. But it seems to be the last of the intense cold for a little while after that. *fingers crossed* Enjoy some warm for me, okay?

      Like

  4. What a wonderful start to the spring :). The books you have are just lovely.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you… we are slowly building our “seasonal” library. It felt great to put away winter books last week and felt great to dive into new books as well. Children books are the one thing I can’t skimp on. I want my kids to read, our libraries are not very inspiring (and mostly in French) and I don’t want my kids on a Kindle or Tablet. There is something about the love of a good book in your hands that I want them to learn.

      “Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt” is the latest Kate Messner and it,s just as amazing as her previous “Over and Under the Snow”. I definitely recommend it!

      Like

  5. Good mail day is right!

    And a chocolate swap?! What a fabulous idea! Like Kim said, I’m not sure how I missed out on that one!

    The shells are gorgeous and Signing Time is one of our faves! Enjoy!

    I have yet to dive into my issue of Taproot but I did flip through it and it looks particularly good!

    Happy Spring, Yanic! May this season be one of magic!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Oh, same to you and your family Dear Shel! I wish for you warmth and lots and lots of Spring time goodness.

      Yes, I’ve also just skimmed the issue. Stopped for a few articles like the Herb Fermenting. Definitely going to try that soon.

      Hope your week-end was amazing. xo

      Like

  6. Perhaps she can come to our house next and convince Lady Spring to arrive 😉 It made my day just to look at all of your fabulous mail! Taproot is on the short list for reading around here as well. Hope that wand works soon and Lady Spring is right around the corner for you.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      If it was that easy, we would leave on tour! LOL!!! The mail still gets to me. In an age of nothing-but-junk in your mail box, this was just a glorious day. We felt like big (and of course little) kids. 🙂

      Like

  7. Happy First day of Spring to you & your family! Those books look wonderful, I’ve been looking for some new book ideas for the girls. I’ve been wanting to get taproot too but the shipping to Canada! Oh boy. I really want to subscribe soon, I feel I need that down to earth inspiration away from being online . 🙂

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Happy Spring to you! I’m lucky, I have a hubby that shares the same interests in magazine so it’s always a joint subscription. This year, I gave up all my quilting magazines so we could choose a handful of magazines we would both enjoy. TapRoot was at the top of the list! 🙂 The books are great. I have a special place in my heart (and so do my kiddos) for Kate Messner. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow! What a bountiful day! So much love and support from people! I got my issue of Taproot in the mail, too. I can’t wait to get started on it. And I’ll have to check out those books, they look interesting. Magic and fairies? Yes!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Yes yes! Always about magic… isn’t the natural world just full of it? And I believe in fairies, so only fair my kiddos do as well. Great books. We are enjoying them a lot!

      Like

  9. Un vrai rayon de soleil que ce joyeux billet. C’est un délice à lire. Et que dire de cette belle fête du printemps que tu as préparé pour ta famille ! J’aime tellement ! Il y a des étincelles de magie chez toi et j’aime ça.

    Like

  10. how sweet that many have shared presents with you! The internet blog world is a wonderful place isn’t it??

    Like

  11. kathrynpagano says:

    Oh my what an epic mail day!! Awesome. 🙂

    Like

  12. sally says:

    Happy Spring, and what a magical start to the new season for you, hoping it carries on just that way.

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

