14/52 – Her & Him

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_0766 (1024x683)
Little Man : It’s been a rough week my love. You’ve been sick again. Not enough to really take you out, but enough to cause definite disruption. You’ve been antsy, feeling the cabin fever but at the same time, slow and in need of down time. I can’t wait for the real Spring warmth to take all these little bugs away. Soon I promise. For now, keep being strong and patient. And snuggle in…

A portrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_0638 (1024x683)
Little Miss : Oh how you love to read… of course for now, you make up your own words. But you are so eager. We’ve chosen not to teach you to read quite yet. I love listening to you make up your own stories, inspiring yourself from the pages. Each book tells a new tale every time you pick it up and you lose yourself in the colors, shapes, people and places. There will be plenty of time to read words my love, for now, read with your heart. Let your imagination take you places only you can see.

 Joining Jodi for the 52 Project

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Project, Family Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 14/52 – Her & Him

  1. Your Little Miss is such an imaginative, creative child! I wish for her to keep that side even as she grows up. It is so important to be able to loose yourself in your own world sometimes. And the hat is a blast! 🙂 Hopefully Little Man will feel better soon! xoxo

    Like

  2. Hope your little man feels better soon. Hugs to him. Your little miss looks so happy. I love hearing them make up stories, and seeing where their imagination takes them. We have a very enthusiastic story teller here, and I wonder just where it will take him 🙂

    Hope you guys are enjoying the long weekend. Happy Easter!
    xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I know… mine is a professional narrator already. She has a running commentary on everything and everyone. LOL!

      Little man is feeling a bit better, but that cough. So disturbing. Dry and just nagging. The kind of cough that takes forever. I really cannot wait for some warm weather.

      Hope your week-end was just as lovely. xoxo

      Like

  3. I loved the close-up shot of your little man. His expression is so deep, so full of feeling. When I see looks like that on little people, I always wonder what they are thinking about.

    I love that you let your little miss read her own stories. Imagination is a wonderful thing that grows when it’s used. Even now that I’m grown, with a toddler of my own, I still like to make up stories and songs for him.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Poor little guy was so miserable in that picture. But he was also so calm and peaceful. It was a strangely beautiful combination. I don’t have a “snuggler”. So even though we don’t like seeing sick, there is always a little part of us that soaks up the quiet times that come with him feeling less than perfect.

      Motherhood is amazing for reviving our imagination isn’t it? I love that I’m able to get on all 4s and be any animal, march along a forest path and be a marching band or simply sit in the street with chalk, creating beautiful pictures. To be a mom is truly an amazing gift!

      Like

  4. Carie says:

    Oh poor wee man. I hope he feels better soon!! And I just love that picture of your daughter, it’s such a lovely shot and she looks so happy with her book – I suspect it won’t be long before she works it all out!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      She is truly a funny little one. Again tonight, she chose the book she wanted to read before bed. She sat down and started reading it to herself before her dad came in and when dad was done reading it, she looked at him and said “when I read it, the words aren’t the same.”. Just love her so much!

      Little man is feeling much better. The cough is finally subsiding. We are hoping for a better night tonight. *fingers crossed*

      Like

  5. barnraised says:

    Love the Dr. Seuss hat!

    Like

  6. oh my, those eyes….!

    Like

  7. sally says:

    Hope your little man is feeling much better by now, I’m sure some sunshine will be helping. And your words on reading and imagination seem very appropriate to Dr Seuss!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      He is ally, thank you. Although I’m starting to suspect he might have mild seasonal allergies because he’s had a non-stop little drip. He is full of energy and in a great mood, but just constantly needs his nose wiped. Maybe he’s just like the trees around here, thawing out after a very VERY cold winter. xox

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

