19/52 – Her & Him

A portrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_1140 (1280x853)
Little Miss 
: Oh how you love our morning walks. We have been working on establishing a new rhythm since you have stopped preschool and although a few things still need tweaking, our early morning walk is one thing that will stick throughout the summer. Waking up with nature suits you, you feel at home in the woods. You walk through them asking a million questions about everything : plant names, bird calls, cloud shapes… I couldn’t be happier. You told us this week you would like to work with animals one day, I’m sure you will. And they will be lucky to have such a compassionate and caring friend.

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_1142 (1024x683)
Little Man : You were more quiet this week. You are either fighting another little cold (who could blame you with 20’C shifts almost every day) or we are seeing the first hints of what could be seasonal allergies. We are looking forward to getting some answers about that soon. But it hasn’t stopped you from climbing, running, playing… these don’t need words or sounds. In that quiet, you can hear better I’m sure. Giving those little ears of yours every opportunity to catch the sounds they can. We’ve noticed some subtleties this week : You don’t seem to hear bird calls, but you do hear woodpeckers. This path we are walking with you is filled with mystery and exploration, I’m so glad we can walk it together.

 Joining Jodi for the 52 Project

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Project, Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 19/52 – Her & Him

  1. Carie says:

    Oh what lovely photos Yanic, and lovely stories to go with them. It really sounds like you’re finding your groove for the summer, and what’s not to like about a day that starts with such a pretty spot and lots of fresh air!

    Like

  2. mari says:

    They are both so precious Yanic 🙂

    Like

  3. The best way to start the day is in the woods 🙂 The connection, and grounding are so good for us.

    Glad you guys are starting to find your groove. Have a wonderful week.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I see it in my children every time we come back. Today, we were having torrential downpours so we couldn’t go. My children were restless and without focus all day. We tried making up for it before dinner, but it wasn’t enough. I think that no matter what, I will take them out tomorrow morning. 🙂 Wishing you a lovely week as well.

      Like

  4. sally says:

    She looks so grown up in this one, and what a great way to start the day. Hope your little man is feeling a bit better now whether it’s cold or allergies, but really interesting that you’re discovering the details behind what he hears.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      She really does. I can see all her baby features just meting away at an alarming pace. And yes, I love “getting to know him” this way. Sometimes, it can be a bit frustrating, but I love watching his face when he reacts to stuff. Sometimes, I wouldn’t expect it. He seems to hear things that I barely notice, but then won’t even blink at very loud sounds. I can’t wait for the follow up hearing test in September.

      Like

  5. well well, it looks like somebody grows to look a lot like her beautiful mama…

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

