21/52 – Her & Him

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_1328 (1280x853)

Little Man : Ever since we’ve found out about your probable sensory processing issues, it’s been so much easier to connect with you. We’ve adapted the way we play, the way we move, the way we are in every moment and life has become so much fun. This is one of your favorite things now : We grab every pillow in the house, lay them down and cover them with a king size sheet. Like walking on a cloud. You can play there for hours, it calms you, cradles you. I’ve even caught you falling asleep in them. It’s little things like this my love that will make all of this better. Every adjustment we need to make will be worth it. To have you happy, we would do anything.

A portrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_1364 (1280x853)

Little Miss : My little flower princess. Every petal is a miracle, every bloom sparks your imagination. What others consider weeds, you consider fields of gold. “I’m the dandelion queen mom!” you told me today. You picked a bouquet so big for me, I had pollen all over my camera. To watch you love every part of nature is truly a gift. You see the beauty in all of it, you embrace what others dismiss. Your eyes and heart will always see things that many do not and for that, I’m truly grateful.

 Joining Jodi for the 52 Project

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Project, Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 21/52 – Her & Him

  1. Merri McElderry says:

    HI and yet another beautiful post of Love. What a grand idea for the little man…to have a soft haven of Love to play in….and that princess of flowers…how lovely she is! You are blessed for sure and I thank you for sharing your Joy!! Many continued blessings…Love, Merri

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Merri for always being so kind on my post. I got the idea for my little guy when looking at crash pillows. I thought at first of making him one (big back filled with extra thick foam blocks) but then I thought : What if the entire living room was a crash pillow? SUCCESS! We want to do something similar outside this summer, just haven’t quite figured it out yet. 🙂

      And yes, my lovely girl in pink… It was an extremely well timed picture. I’m lucky to have a Little Miss that loves being photographed. 🙂

      Have a wonderful week!

      Like

  2. barnraised says:

    Wow…that field of yellow!

    Like

  3. Carie says:

    Oh how great to know what to do to help your wee man – the pillow cloud sounds pretty good to me too! And what a lovely bouquet from the sweetest girl!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It has been wonderful to address his sensory needs. We’ve been seeing such improved eye contact, him seeking us out to play. It’s been wonderful. And yes, the pillow bed is fun for all! 🙂

      Like

  4. mari says:

    Oh Yanic, I am so glad that you were able to find out what would make Little Man calm and happy…my daughter likes pillows also 😀 mari

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It is a wonderful thing Mari, to truly connect on that level with a loved one, knowing inside how to make them happy and whole. And honestly, the pillows have been amazing for the entire family. My daughter enjoys them as well and I’ve taken to reading in them when they take a nap. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lotta says:

    The pillow cloud sounds fantastic – a squishy living room floor would be so much fun! I love dandelions too and I can remember sitting in the grass like that as a child, enjoying being surrounded by them all.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Oh how I loves lying among them too. Especially with a nice breeze, blowing the little seed pods everywhere. Way before Tinker Bell made it popular, I knew fairies used them for travel. 😉

      Like

  6. Your little man looks a little bigger this week 🙂 And your little miss looks so at peace sitting among those dandelions.

    Hope you guys had a good day. xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      He’s getting HUGE! I won’t be able to carry him on my shoulders soon. He’s just a tank. 🙂 And yes, she just loved playing in that little field at the arboretum. It was a really wonderful day.

      Have a good week dear friend!

      Like

  7. these two are loved, lucky kids to have you!

    Like

  8. sophiezest says:

    Happy feelings radiating from your words!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I’m glad… We are dealing with a lot right now and I’m always afraid of sounding tired or stressed. But really, happy is what I feel most of the time. 🙂

      Like

  9. sally says:

    What a great idea for your little man, I think I could play for hours there too, and definitely fall asleep! And what a gorgeous photo of your little girl, love her surrounded by the dandelions, they may be a weed but such a beautiful colour.

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

