25/52 – Her & Him

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_1593 (1024x681)Little Man : Oh the adventure, oh the possibilities. We knew leaving the house you would return filthy. But low tide mud play is so good for the soul. The river was warm today, the surf rolling in slowly, slapping against your boots, making you giggle. A few times you went a bit too far, your boots filled with water and you loved it. You ran around the beach, laughing at the sound your feet made. How easy you are to please. ❤

A portrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_1597 (1024x651)

Little Miss : It was hard for you to stay on the sidelines today. You love the beach so much. But we made the most of it : Picking shells, rocks and river glass. We found driftwood walking sticks, searched for birds and chatted. The harsh reality of a cast in summer has been a life lesson this week, but you are doing so well. 3 more weeks to go and we will be ready for action. ❤

 Joining Jodi for the 52 Project

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Project, Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 25/52 – Her & Him

  1. Oh goodness, these pictures are great! Little Man and Little Miss are feeling older to me in these! River glass sounds fabulous and takes me back to my childhood days of hunting sea glass on the beach! Such good memories!

    Happy Father’s Day to J and happy Summer Solstice to all of you! My apologies for being so out of touch! I am terribly behind on blogs but now that all activities are done I’ll be able to get caught up and be better about staying in the loop! Please know that you are never far from my thoughts and I hope all is well up north! xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Never worry about life getting in the way of blogs with me okay? LOL! My Bloglovin’ feed is at 99+ an has been for weeks. They do grow up so fast. Little Man will be 2 in just a little over 3 weeks. I can’t believe how fast it goes.
      I hope all your celebrations were wonderful ones today. We had a wonderful time. xoxo

      Like

  2. sally says:

    Oh dear, I hadn’t really thought about it in terms of Summer and water and generally being careful. Not the best time of year for it :(. But 3 weeks doesn’t sound too bad, you should have a fair bit of Summer left to enjoy still hopefully shouldn’t you? And what a lovely age – when they’re so easily pleased! Although I think it’s as much personality and attitude to life as age.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      We surely will. June has been so cold anyway, it’s not like we’ve been sitting here sweating, hoping for a pool day. Most days, we are still leaving the house with a light sweater. She is very lucky this happened so early in the season. And yes, I do hope Little Man take s from me and is happy with extra simple things. I’ve never been too complicated. I try to teach gratitude to my children in everything we do. And being happy in the moment and finding the world around you marvelous is a very easy way to always be happy with very little. 🙂

      Like

  3. Kim says:

    Oh that looks like a great place to play 🙂 Hope you guys had fun.

    Happy Summer Solstice!!!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      We really did… It’s a great Bird Refuge about 30 minutes from our home. We even saw a Baltimore Oriole couple (the male was spectacular!) and a few Semi-palmated sandpipers in flight. Just a wonderful outing.

      Happy Solstice to you and Happy father’s Day to your hubby xox

      Like

  4. appleshoe says:

    oh my! Look at how much they have both grown! What on earth are you feeding them, they are shooting up like Sunflowers 🙂

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      After I read your comment tonight, I decided to measure the kids on our wall. Well, Little Miss grows at a constant speed : About 1/4 inch every 2 months or so. It’s a lot, but she is slowly owning her height. (I’m considered small in my family with my 5’6″… My sister is almost 5’10” tall.) But we hadn’t measured Little Man in 3 months and believe it or not, he has grown 3 inches! So, a few weeks short of his 2nd Birthday, my son is officially 35.5 inches tall and 33 lbs. I don’t think it is what more than how much he eats. LOL! The boy is a bottomless pit. I love people that still believe that a vegetarian child can’t grow properly. My son is vegetarian, dairy and gluten free and still towers over everyone his age. Healthy and happy kids are the greatest blessing.

      Like

  5. barnraised says:

    I love how each of their personalities seemed to always get captured so well in your pictures! Even though, I don’t know them at all, I see the same consistent personalities captured in your shots.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you… I’m actually pleased that you said that because I see it of course, but I’m also a bit biased. 🙂 I think it is what I like about the project so much (and what will keep it going next year again). It’s how much the growth is obvious. I didn’t think I would notice it so much doing it every week, but my goodness, it screams at you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. bitsofthepast says:

    Wonderful pictures and wonderful stories! So vivid, I could almost hear your little guy giggling!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Oh yes, my son’s laughter is definitely something that stays etched in someone’s brain. He smiles a lot, but to get him down right giggling, it has to be special. I guess this really was. 🙂
      Thank you for stopping by Suzy. I know I’m SO late catching up on your blog. I promise to make up for it very soon. xox

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

