Saturday Garden Inspiration – June 27, 2015 (posted a day late!)

Sharing a little glimpse of my garden that makes me happy.

Wishing you a very peaceful day.

IMG_1620 (1280x853)

Once again this year, I’ll be sharing little glimpses of our gardens. Although so much is growing all the time, there is always a little moment every week that makes me smile extra wide and this is what I want to share with you.

Gardening to me is a lot of things. But one of the biggest lessons to learn about it is mastering the art of letting go. To garden is to choose to put yourself entirely in the arms of Mother Nature and all its glorious moods. There is a lot you can do to try to better the situation : Pest control, weeding, covering your rows, protecting your plants, watering… But at the end of the day, the season you get is the first biggest influence on what will grow and what you will harvest.

We’ve always excelled at tomatoes. Maybe we’ve just been lucky and the weather has always been perfect. Even when we started to grow from seed, although many other crops would fail, wilt, stunt, bolt, tomatoes always flourished. This may be the first year we turn that story around.

23 tomatoes is what I counted Saturday morning, all from the nursery stock we bought to replace all the transplants we lost due to late frosts and harsh hardening conditions (mainly excessive winds). I’m sure we will get much more. So many flowers are blooming here and there. But on our own plants, still nothing. Like little wisps of ivy, they barely hold up their heads. The heat just isn’t there to give them the boost they need I’m afraid. So we may not be canning much of our own this year. Thank God for our local farmers. But we can at least be assured a few amazing tomato sandwiches, roasted tomato pizzas and some fresh salsa.

Let it go and chalk it up to a bad year my friends. If you are only gardening for results, you will be often disappointed.  Like my friend Isis from Little Mountain Haven once wrote :

How is your garden growing?

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Saturday garden inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Saturday Garden Inspiration – June 27, 2015 (posted a day late!)

  1. Kim says:

    It is never about the destination, always about the journey. There is risk in gardening, and yes, you are at the hands of Mother Nature. The only thing you can do is work with her, and hope for the best. And always remember there is a farmer who has your back 🙂

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Amen! And you also have to make the best of it. I’ve never eaten so many greens and radishes out of my gardens before. So really, it’s all about being thankful for what you have. 🙂 xox

      Like

  2. barnraised says:

    Better late than never 🙂 Love that thought about the soul of the gambler in gardening.

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    Your tomatoes are looking great and it sounds like you’ll have a bumper crop very soon!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I sure do hope so. There is very little that beats picking a ripe tomato off the vine, warm with the sun, and eating it like an apple. LOL! It is a tradition here when the first one is ready.

      Like

  4. Marie says:

    Très belle et très sage réflexion!

    Like

  5. sally says:

    Fingers crossed for those tomato flowers for you – of all the garden’s harvest I think tomatoes are right up there with the best and most useful in so many ways. Always good to look on the positive, but I have to admit I’d swap bucketfuls of fresh garden greens for a few garden tomatoes! Hoping you can have it all and eat it!

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

