An unbreakable bond

IMG_1998 (1280x854) IMG_1422 (1280x853) IMG_1425 (1280x853) IMG_1938 (1280x853) IMG_1971 (1280x853) IMG_1667 (1280x815) IMG_1768 (1280x880)

 

To my daughter

When we decided to keep you home in April, it was for so many reasons. Me wanting to enjoy these last few months before school with you, us hoping that having you home would help your little brother come out of his shell and that you would inspire him to try a few new things. You are such an imaginative and creative soul, how could someone NOT be better around you?

But honestly, I was secretly hoping that it would finally make you and your brother siblings.

From the very beginning, there has been no doubt in my mind of how much you adore your little brother. But as the months went by, we knew you were feeling the strain of your “different” relationship. Our Little Man has been a tough nut to crack and for a long time, you were waiting on the sidelines for him to open up to you. I’m happy to say our gamble paid off.

What fun you two have together. When he wakes up in the morning, he searches for you. When we put him to bed at night, he will fight sleep until you are in bed as well. Although he can’t say your name or the words “I love you”, he holds your hand when you are sitting next to him in the car and blows you kisses when he walks away. You know exactly what to do to make him giggle, what to do to make him chase you around. You finally have YOUR little brother.

But luck had nothing to do with it my love, it was all you : Your patience, your flexibility, your acceptance, your unconditional love. You have been 100 times more compassionate than most adults we have encountered. You are the best big sister a little man could ever have. You are his protector, his biggest fan, you notice every little thing and celebrate them in the most elaborate ways. You’ve adapted everything you are and everything you do for him to feel included. You’ve let go all your preconceived notions and have embraced every molecule of him. Thanks to you, his life is filled with joy and understanding. You truly love him for who he is, you’ve never tried to change him.

You are so brave and so strong. So wise beyond your years. You will teach so much to so many. Ignorance has a valiant new enemy. We are so blessed to have you on our winning team.

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to An unbreakable bond

  1. Merri McElderry says:

    What a lovely family, and so beautiful those two who love one another so much!! She is soo good to that darling little man, and he is so loving it. WONDERFUL!!! Blessings abound. Love your sharing and your being the best mom and dad in the world…blessings on you all there…Merri

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Merri… we believe that children choose their parents. But I think children choose their siblings as well. And I think our son knew exactly who he was getting as a big sister when he chose us. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Carie says:

    Oh Yanic what a beautiful post for such a clever and kind daughter. I’m so glad that staying home has given her the sibling relationship she was looking for, she has a very lucky little brother!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Yes he is. Our little guy’s unique nature is so complex, I’m just amazed everyday at how her almost-5 year old brain can wrap itself around it so well. True love can do incredible things.

      Like

  3. What a lucky little man he is. And what lucky kiddos to have such a Mama!

    One of the things I love most about watching my kids is the way their relationships evolve and change. How much they learn from each other that they could never learn from us. It is inspiring, indeed.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Awh, thank you Coco. I’m only lucky enough to be a good mama because they chose me to be such. 🙂 And yes, watching simply be together is just wonderful. I’m just happy beyond words that I finally have kids that play with each other instead of “around” each other. Our home is whole… Now if only dad could work from home all the time, we would be perfect! LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Marie says:

    Très touchant texte. C’est vrai que les relations dans la fratrie sont très importantes. Quelle bonne idée vous avez eu de garder votre little Miss à la maison le printermps dernier! Il y a une citation que j’aime beaucoup, que j’ai lue je crois dans livre il y a maintenant plusieurs années. Elle illustre bien l’importance du temps libre, sans contraintes, pour nos enfants. J’espère qu’elle te plaira aussi: “Kids need time and space to contemplate in order to know who they are becoming.” Rhonda Ramos

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Quelle belle citation et quels gentils mots. Je dois avouer que les preimères semaines, le rhytme était difficile. La balance n’était pas là. Nous avons presqu’abandonné. Le partage d’espace, du temps de maman était vraient dur. Mais quel incroyable été nous passons!

      Like

  5. barnraised says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your daughter. One day, when she is older, she will read this and feel proud simply of who she inately is.

    Like

  6. sandra says:

    Oh, little tears in my eyes as I read your post, so “touchant”… beautiful words… and that girl!!!!

    Like

  7. KerryCan says:

    This is beautiful!

    Like

  8. Lotta says:

    This is beautiful and heart warming. I don’t have any other words! x

    Like

  9. Thank you for sharing your beautiful love letter. Your family is so fortunate, mostly in having each other.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      You are most welcome Melanie. Too many are so keen on sharing the hate, I think if everybody shared more love, the world would be a much different place. 🙂 And yes, I couldn’t ask for a better family. My daughter last night said “Mom, I think our family is perfect!”… we smiled and looked at her and said “nobody is perfect, but our family is perfect for us!”

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Mountain Girl says:

    Oh, I’ve been so behind on keeping up with my bloggy friends (too)! Loved this post–sweet, sweet girl, and boy…you are so good for them. 🙂

    Like

  11. Janette says:

    What a lovely post, and what lucky children to have such a lovely Mama 🙂 xx

    Like

  12. Kim says:

    Such a sweet, and special relationship they have. Can’t wait to watch it grow and change over the years 🙂

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Same here… I think they will have such a deep and unshakable understanding and love of each other because of this less “conventional” start. What doesn’t break you makes you stronger and there will be very little that will be stronger than these two! 🙂

      Like

  13. jenny says:

    this brought tears to my eyes. so sweet and wonderful. your living room looks so fun and playful! 🙂

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you…
      YES! We have a small house (under 900 ft sq with no finished basement) so the living room must double as a playroom. Plus, we have a purple corduroy couch. Green seemed perfect! 🙂

      Like

  14. sally says:

    What beautiful words for your daughter and how amazing that they have developed such a special relationship, something that will connect them so strongly for life.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I hope so… even though my sister and I live several hours apart and don’t always see eye to eye, I still feel better knowing she is there and that we are together. It’s what I want for them.

      Like

  15. karen says:

    my daughter and son are three years apart and are the bestest of friends! loved reading this letter to your daughter 🙂

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Karen. I think my daughter will always have a “2nd mom” reflex with her brother. She already mothers him so much. It makes me happy to see how close they are becoming.

      Like

  16. Appleshoe says:

    Such a sweet letter to your wee girl. The pictures and words made me cry. I’m so glad things are working out for you all. Be well.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you… I can’t wait to see how Panda transitions into his big-brother role with the new little one. He’s so affectionate with his lovies, I’m sure he’ll be wonderful!

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

