38/52 – Her & Him

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_2382 (1280x853)

Little Man : You have grown so much this week it seems. There are things you never did before that are popping up : pointing at things you want, trying to put on your own shoes and eating with a spoon! How is it that just 7 days ago, you wouldn’t touch one and now, you eat a whole bowl of macaroni with barely a spill. Goes to show that trying to rush you serves no purpose. You are the true master of your body, mind and soul. ❤

A portrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_2397 (1280x853)

Little Miss : Today was the big day and what a party it was… You have been waiting to wear this special dress for months and you felt like a queen in it. With a few select friends, you did crafts, decorated cupcakes, bounced in a trampoline full of balloons and just had a blast. But what impressed me the most is that when you got up this morning, the first thing you asked was if you could write Thank You notes to all your friends and family for coming to your party. Not once did I hear “where are my presents?”, you patiently waited for everyone to arrive and greeted them all with a hug. You’ve always been so mature and generous with your birthdays. It is a beautiful quality in you my love. You make us so proud.  ❤

Joining Jodi for the 52 Project

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Project, Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 38/52 – Her & Him

  1. Susan says:

    It’s very true, Yanic, that children do things at their own pace and your sweet little boy is showing you that. The birthday girl looks beautiful – it sounds like she had a perfect day. I can’t believe she wanted to write thank you notes. You are a wonderful mom.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Oh thank you Susan. You are very sweet. My daughter has always loved giving more than receiving. I mean, like all children, getting presents is a wonderful thing. But she will spend hours drawing and crafting for people. Our house is full and so is everyone’s home that she loves.

      My little man is one of my greatest teachers. I’ve learned more about myself since he,s been born than ever before. For that, I feel truly blessed. 🙂

      Like

  2. Marie says:

    Ce qu’il est mignon ton petit garçon Yanic. J’adore cette photo! Avoir confiance qu’ils arriveront à faire ce qu’ils doivent le moment venu et quand il seront prêts, c’est très important, c’est vrai. Et on peut l’oublier parfois… Beau et sage rappel. Et quelle belle robe en effet! Ce devait être une magnifique fête pour votre petite demoiselle. Quelle sagesse aussi relativement à ses cadeaux. Très joli 🙂

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Merci Marie… Ce message me sonne à l’oreille aussi de façon très claire cette semaine. Nous avons commencé la thérapie pour ces troubles de modulation sensorielle la semaine dernière et nous voyons déjà du progrès. Mais nous devons aussi le laisser aller. Ceci n’est pas à propos des résultats, c’est à propos du voyage vers une meilleure connaissance de mon petit homme et tout ce qui le rend unique et fantastique, tu sais?

      Et oui, quelle belle fête! Un joli groupe de petites princesses, pleines d’énergie et de jolies boucles dans leurs cheveux. 🙂 Nous avons passé une superbe journée.

      Bonne semaine!

      Like

  3. sandra says:

    Oh ces photos et ces textes sont très émouvants ! On sent que le nid familial est vraiment porteur pour ces petits êtres si plein d’énergie positive !

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Merci Sandra… Je pense que nous avons enfin trouvé un rythme et un équilibre. Et avec la saison qui change et les journées qui ralentissent, nous nous dirigeons plus souvent à l’intérieur. Nos activités deviennent plus douces, la vie est belle. Bonne semaine ma chère. xo

      Like

  4. Appleshoe says:

    Awe. There is no pushing our boys is there. So much alike. And your little Miss, such a beautiful dress and the grace of a queen to match. She deserved to feel like one for the day. So adorable. I’m glad she had a good birthday. Take care.

    Like

  5. Kim says:

    Look at your little man go, love it!!! I think trying to rush any child serves no purpose 🙂 Sounds like your little miss had a lovely birthday celebration. She looks beautiful in her special dress.

    Hope you guys have a great week!
    xo

    Like

  6. sally says:

    What a beautiful dress it is, hope she had a really special time. And yes to the not pushing them! I think sometimes they keep us waiting on purpose and then do whatever it is perfectly just to teach us that lesson again!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I think so. They are the best ones to teach us who they are… we just have to let go of the expectations. That part can be hard as a parent. We have great dreams, great hopes… But only they can tel us where they will go and who they will be. It’s a wonderful exercise in letting go.

      She had a wonderful day, thank you! 🙂

      Like

  7. I’ve been inactive for a while and missed a bunch of your posts, but when I saw this one, I was delighted! Your son’s face is an incarnation of delighted feeling while eating macaroni! 🙂 I love it! And your girl… little princess, she’s grown up so much! Thank you for sharing your beautiful life with us xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Hello you! Thank you for coming by and saying hello. 🙂 My son and pasta (even the gluten free stuff), it’s a love affair. He was fairly proud of himself too. And yes. She has been growing leaps and bounds since starting school. We couldn’t be happier with her teachers and classmates.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for having me back 🙂 You don’t need gluten to enjoy good pasta and Little Man knows that very well. He’s adorable! And your girl… what a happy child. You can tell she is living in a healthy environment, surrounded by love, encouragement and appreciation 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

