40/52 – Her & Him

A portrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_2650 (1280x853)

Little Miss : I have felt it since you’ve started school : Although you love going to class every morning, you miss our daily rituals. What used to be daily early morning walks have turned into week-end morning hikes and even though you are excited to be out and about, you’ve also missed the quiet of nature. I can’t complain : Your school has such an “outdoor” mentality. Every morning, when the bell rings, your teacher keeps you guys outside for a little while longer, to play and run before it’s time to settle in. And between almost an hour at lunch time and 20 minute recesses throughout the day, you spend half your time away from us playing in the school yard. But a yard isn’t the woods. We’ll make sure you get as much time as you can in the forests you adore this school year. We will find that balance together.  ❤

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_2676 (1280x853)

Little Man : We went apple picking in the frosty morning hours today. You were pretty excited… not by the picking, not by the outdoors, but by the apples. I lost count of how many apples you ate sitting in that little buggy, watching the sun come over the tree line, making the apple trees glimmer in the light. You are such a simple and happy soul. I don’t know anyone that can be as in the moment as you are all the time. You teach me so much everyday about what it is to simply be. I’m so lucky to be your mama. ❤

Joining Jodi for the 52 Project

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Project, Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 40/52 – Her & Him

  1. remmus26 says:

    My goodness are they looking big!! I’ve been away from
    This space for too long!!
    Hoping everything is well in your part of the world.
    Looks like it’s getting chilly!!
    Xoxo
    Summer

    Like

  2. Kim says:

    Such a thoughtful photo of your little miss. And your little man looks so cute all bundled up 🙂

    Like

  3. kittywilkin says:

    Maddie is missing our family adventures, too, although she loves school quite a bit. I’ve been making a point to walk to pick her up so that we can stay and she and Max can play for an hour or so after school, and then we all walk home together. A few days ago she was remembering the woolly bear caterpillars and wondering when we would start seeing them again; yesterday we found four on the walk home! A week ago we rescued an itty bitty baby snapping turtle from the road. The kids play in milkweed fluff along the way, and find heart rocks in the broken pavement along the road’s edge. You don’t experience the world in a car. ❤

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      And what adventures you have had during those walks! My daughter would just flip if she found a turtle. But we have rescued quite a few earthworms after the rain. 🙂 I’ve been doing the same thing : picking up Little Miss, Little man in tow, and just heading out. Such a nice time of the afternoon to be out and about and still come home with plenty of time to make dinner. I’m happy Mddie loves school as well. So important to love learning.

      Like

  4. mari says:

    Is it cold by you Yanic? it is here. :0) Send me your email so that I can send a small package back to you…. my email is msedajubilee65@gmail.com. So glad that your children are doing so well, and school is going well :0) blessings, mari

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I just wrote you. Tea swap??? 🙂 How very exciting. Oh yes, very cold here already. It actually dropped down below 0’C last night. We’ve been having to bundle up quite a bit. But the sun has been amazing. All the trees are in full color and fall is just majestic.

      Thank you for stopping by and saying hello. I’ll wait for your email. xox

      Like

  5. Appleshoe says:

    Poor Little Miss. I know how hard it is to want to be outside (in nature) and not being able to go. I’m sure you will find the right balance. And your Little Man… I had to chuckle. We love our apples (I’m sure you guessed) and this is yet one more thing Panda and Little Man share in common. Sometimes I worry he’s going to get a tummy ache. Be well.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I’ve just had a vision : Panda and Litle Man, sitting side bby side on a buggy in an orchard, eating apples. What a lovely thought.
      We have been good about getting her out as much as possible. We are lucky that we have local trails that are wonderful. 🙂

      Like

  6. sally says:

    Ahhh, children are just brilliant at being in the moment, particularly when they are so young, it is really special to see. And apples are one of my favourite things at this time of year too, I just can’t eat too many! And I do feel for you on the school front, it is hard, even with a really great school. I so often wish we could at least pick and choose which days we go in to school, and if it’s a beautiful, crisp sunny day then decide this is a day to skip school, particularly when they’re so young.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I agree! They should have a handful of days that are optional… “Nature Days” or something. I would totally jump on that one. Yesterday was one of those days. It was so nice outside, the sun was warm, the sky didn’t have a cloud in it, the leaves were raining from the trees… It was magical.

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

