46/52 – Her & Him

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_3212 (1280x826)

Little Man : You grew up this week. I can’t explain it, but you feel more mature. They told us you would go through bursts in your learning followed by periods where it seemed not much was happening and I think I understand better now what they meant. You’ve been affectionate, giggly, curious and full of adventure. You’ve started really playing with blocks. You walk around with your dinosaurs, making them growl. You also started talking this week : Not with words, but with sign language. You make the signs for “eat”, “more” and “done” now, which makes meal times so much easier. All your moves seem so much more calculated, mindful even.  It’s been a wonderful week with you my love, thank you so much for opening the doors to your world for me. ❤

A portrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_3230 (1280x853)

Little Miss : It is scary how smart you are. You amaze me everyday with your endless curiosity and your powers of retention. You have mama’s photographic memory it seems. which I’m sure will get me in trouble one day. I love our “homeschooling” moments. I love being able to teach you about the world, about nature. I also love being able to go beyond school with you, feeding your brain the knowledge it desires without you being told to wait for others. I’ve been trying to find the balance between what you want to learn and what I think is appropriate for you to learn at this time. You haven’t been too upset with me when I ask you to wait so I guess we are doing well. Love of learning is a gift you will treasure forever my darling, I’m so happy you have been blessed with it. ❤

Joining Jodi for the 52 Project

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Project, Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 46/52 – Her & Him

  1. sophiezest says:

    I love this week’s photos! I was just looking at your little man and thinking how much he had grown up, when I read your first sentence! 🙂 Bon weekend!

    Like

  2. sandra says:

    Thanks for sharing those two portraits with your feelings, so nice to read and see how you car for your children so much!

    Like

  3. Kim says:

    Holy smokes, your little man doesn’t look so little anymore. He looks like a boy 🙂 They grow so fast. Little miss looks so happy, love her smile. Can’t wait to see you guys in a few weeks.

    xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Exactly… that is what I was saying, there is something in his face, his ways, his posture. Something changed and he became a little boy this week. You hit it on the head.

      Oh, and yes! I have a feeling I’ll be doing lots of mathematics and geometry with this one. These symmetry games with the Spielgaben are for grade 1 and 2… She didn’t just figure it out, she started creating her own and we took turns making the mirror images. Just wicked smart!

      Can’t wait to see you. Just 6 weeks or so to go. I’m sure time will fly by.

      Like

  4. What a wonderful week you have all had. I can hear your happiness in your words. Your little man does look like he has changed, a toddler no longer 🙂

    Like

  5. barnraised says:

    So sweet. Love the bright green walls by the way. And, yes, I hear you on the balance…it’s a hard one!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I love our living room walls! They always make the room so cheery. 🙂

      The balance is a hard one… they are so eager to grow up and know it all. You want them to crave that knowledge, but you also want them to keep some form of innocence and wonder. Add a classroom setting with kiddos from all kinds of parenting style and you end up navigating some crazy waters.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. he seems quite “older” in that photo, laying there thinking away. Your daughter has such a bright confident smile!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      He really does. Hes had days where he is all independant. He knows exactly what he wants and where hes going… Others, he’s my baby boy. He wants all my attention, he holds my hand and snuggles with me on the couch for hours. There is so much going on with him now. It’s amazing!

      Brain games are what make her happy. Little Miss isn’t the most coordinated or physically active child. I mean, she moves and such, but isn’t one for organized sports or anything like that. But give her a good puzzle or mind-teaser and she’s right there! The Spielgaben set is by far our favorite toy in the house!

      Like

  7. Marie says:

    Très belles photos! C’est vrai que Little Man a l’air d’avoir grandi tellement vite! Ça me fait toujours tout drôle quand je remarque ça avec mes propres enfants. En même temps, quand je regarde des photos des précédentes années, je me dis qu’ils étaient tout petits à cette époque… C’est ce que j’essaie de me rappeler tous les jours. Car tout est relatif 🙂 Bravo pour Little Miss! J’étais aussi ce genre d’enfant moi-même.

    Like

  8. Susan says:

    Your love for your children shines through your words. How blessed they are to have you.

    Like

  9. Mountain Girl says:

    He really is growing up! Love seeing these pics of your sweet kids!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Mia… I’ve been horrible about blogs in general the last month or so. So sorry I haven’t visited in a while. I plan on making up for it very soon. xox Hope you are well and thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  10. Carie says:

    Oh what lovely moments for both of them this week – life sounds very happy and balanced and content and it’s lovely to see the results in their happy faces 🙂

    Like

  11. sally says:

    He does look very grown up there, where has your baby gone? And your little miss has obviously got a love of learning as well as a love of art, another wonderful love to have for life.

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

