8/52 and 9/52 – Her & Him (Catch-up)

** I want to sincerely apologize for having simply disappeared on all of you. Viruses invading every inch of our home, several snow and ice storms and another broken arm have made the last few weeks a bit overwhelming. But, we are now starting to see the light at the end of the very achy, runny and “coughy” tunnel. **

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, in 2016.

IMG_4281 (1280x853)

(8/52) Little Man : It always amazes me how things that would be so little to others end up being so huge for us. Like last week, you suddenly started playing with all the peg dolls mom has been making for you. Hugging them, carrying them around, lining them up (from tallest to smallest) all over the house… How wonderful it is to see your imagination take flight. All those “little-big things” my love, I notice them all. All your triumphs will be celebrated and you will know joy and fulfillment. You are my shining star. ❤

IMG_4336 (1280x853)

(9/52) Little Man : There he is! My beautiful, happy, sparkling boy… healthy and happy and loving life again. Oh my, what a yucky time we had my love, but you are all better now. Seeing you smile makes my day. Love you so much…

A portrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2016.

IMG_4255 (1280x853)

(8/52) Little Miss : What happens here, in our magical home, before the sun rises? Why, fairies recharge their wands of course. You just amaze me with your boundless energy and wild, beautiful imagination. The depths to which your stories go, the detail, the life you bring to every moment, is truly a gift. I know mom has trouble following sometimes, I hope you will forgive me. Imagination is a muscle and thank goodness I have you to get me back into shape. ❤

IMG_4385 (1280x864)

(9/52) Little Miss : Oh, after all those icy storms, waking up to snow we can actually play in was a rare treat! We headed out early, bundled up in the cold sunny morning air and just played for hours. After making your snow angel, you just laid there, eyes closed, soaking up the sun. What a day it was!

Joining Jodi for the 52 Project

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 8/52 and 9/52 – Her & Him (Catch-up)

  1. I am sorry to hear that you have all been so unwell. I hope that the illnesses have all gone now and you can enjoy life!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      We are feeling begter now, thank you… still in the midst of a great big storm, but all of us are safe inside and aren’t going anywhere so really, just calls for a nice cozy day. Now, playing in all that snow after the storm will definitely qualify as “enjoying life” 🙂 Have a wonderful day dear friend. Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  2. barnraised says:

    Oh boy, sounds like you’ve been dealing with a lot! Hope things settle down soon. Hang in there!!

    Like

  3. KerryCan says:

    Ugh–I think we’ve all been sick! But we haven’t all broken arms–who is it this time?

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      If you can believe it, my daughter AGAIN! But as she so eloquently put it : “At least this time mom, it’s not my drawing arm!” So yes, she has fractured both arms in a 9 month period… oh the stories she will have!

      I hope you feel better soon. xo

      Like

  4. Marie says:

    Really nice to see your Little Man full of joy and energy, but so sorry for your Little Miss Yanic. At least this is not summer yet, so no need to avoid swimming pools during hot and sunny days. Hopefully, you will all feel better soon.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Than you Marie… We were lucky this time and it is a longitudinal break (along the bone) so she was in a half-cast held by a heavy elastic bandage for 10 days. We could take it off to wash her. The cast came off just a few days ago and she is still very tentative on her arm, but she seems better.

      As for the rest of us, all are back to help except for me… but I’m slowly getting there. Hard to rest during Spring Break. 🙂

      Hope your week is going well. xo

      Like

  5. sandra says:

    Oh no, broken arm… and difficult period. I send you good vibes!!! And hope all will be better very soon!

    Like

  6. mirari says:

    hope you’re feeling better!

    Like

  7. jenny says:

    so glad your all feeling better! those peg dolls you made are fabulous!! and the recharging of the fairy wand… so cute!!!!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      That wand has had some quite magical adventures. I love my daughter’s imagination. She is one of the most creative people I know.
      Oh, how I LOVE making peg dolls! It was making me sad for a while that my son showed no interest. But that seems to be slowly fixing itself. Now, he doesn’t play the way she does, but he will line them up in order of height and grab them all in one pile and carry them around the house. He genuinely loves them : Giving them hugs and kisses. That makes me smile. 🙂

      Like

  8. I hope you won the virus battle!! I’ve been avoiding people because around here the stomach flue is making its rounds ….not a fan!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Hello Karen… I have. My son still has a tiny nagging cough, but I was told that with croup, it lingers. His mood is wonderful ad energy boundless so I guess he can’t be feeling that bad. Huh?
      Oh, stomach flues are the worse. They have been everywhere here too and with Little Miss in school, I fear it like the plague. Thank goodness the next few weeks will be mild and we can finally open up the winows.

      Like

  9. So glad to hear you are starting to feel better!

    (I get the feeling guilty about disappearing and reappearing! No matter, what, I am always just happy to see your posts when they pop up!)

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      You are very sweet… And yes, it is hard to let go of this space when I need some time. I always feel like I’m leaving a conversation with a friend unfinished. But life those happen and I try my best to let go of the expectation. Than you for always coming back to say hello.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Sally says:

    All such gorgeous photos, but I do especially love that last one. Your snow in that one looks perfect. I hope life is returning to ‘normal’ for you still. Make sure you don’t forget your resolutions for the year, even if they’ve had to fall by the wayside for the last few weeks. Look after yourself too! I had a couple of ‘hat days’ last week and was thinking about you and your resolutions! Prioritising a long. hot soak in the tub felt very good!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      LOL! I’ve had so many hat days recently… It’s embarrassing. 🙂
      Sorry I took so long to respond to your comment. We were doing great there for a little while and then influenza hit. Just the kids so far. *Fingers crossed* Looking forward to any kind of normal really.
      The snow here is melting rapidly and now it is all grainy and wet. It sparkles like diamond though… very pretty in the sun. 🙂
      Hope your Spring is coming along. Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

