{ This moment }

{ This moment } – A Friday ritual. A single photo – no words – capturing a moment from the week. A simple, special, extraordinary moment. A moment I want to pause, savor and remember.

 If you’re inspired to do the same, leave a link to your ‘moment’ in the comments for all to find and see. Inspired by SouleMama.

Fairy water play

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in { This moment } and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to { This moment }

  1. lilaeve says:

    Very sweet and helpful!
    Here’s ours: http://walterandlila.wordpress.com/2014/03/14/this-moment-38/
    Have a great weekend!

    Like

  2. Little kitchen helpers are the best. Enjoy your weekend.

    Like

  3. appleshoe says:

    awe, well at least you had help cleaning up whole waiting out those storms, and what a cute helper you had. Be well.

    Like

  4. Love when little ones “help” with chores. So sweet!

    Like

  5. Shanda says:

    My children have had all kinds of fun at the kitchen sink. Great shot! Enjoy your day, and sweet blessings to you~

    Like

  6. sophiezest says:

    The tutu is a good look! My son enjoys making ‘special secret recipes’ these days. The combinations are sometimes interesting (and often rather tasty!). Bon weekend! The sun is shining brightly here in Brussels.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      The sun is bright and beautiful here too… now if it could be warmer than -15’C, we’d be all set! LOL!

      My daughter makes a lot of imaginary secret recipes… we have to pretend a lot. 🙂 Works our grown up imagination as well. How they are our teachers!

      Have a great one.

      Like

  7. mountaingmom says:

    Mom’s helper, so cute.

    This Moment

    Like

  8. I love those kitchen helper moments. I have two little kitchen helpers and their willingness to contribute to making dinner and wash dishes is always appreciated. What a lovely moment. Thank you for sharing.

    Wishing you a lovely weekend full of amazing moments. Thank you for your visit today and your thoughtful comment. I would love to stay connected.
    xoxo

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Same here… I haven’t had time to sit down and look through your past posts (little one being a bit of a busy body today), but added your blog to my Bloglovin’ feed so look forward to your posts.

      Thank you for stopping by and wishing you a great day!

      Like

  9. Carie says:

    I love the tutu – you just can’t do the dishes properly if you’re not dressed to the nines!

    Like

  10. Sally says:

    The kitchen sink is such a great place for a little one, especially in a tutu! Have a wonderful weekend, and I hope it warms up a bit for you.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      I’ so happy you caught that… the tutu was crucial : She asked if she could help, then asked us to wait while she was putting it on! LOL!

      It should be fairly warm (still 10 degrees under normal though) but we should get some outdoor time this week-end. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  11. So cute. I love little helpers!

    Here is mine: http://www.daftlydomestic.com/this-moment-26/

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

  12. Jessie says:

    At least she puts on clothes when she does the dishes. I have a picture from a year or so ago (buried in my blog somewhere) of two of my girls helping with dishes, but they thought they need to take off their clothes before starting! 🙂

    Like

  13. Mireille says:

    Lucky you !!! I wish I could have a helping hand in my kitchen !! Have a nice week-end.

    Like

  14. My sweet lady loves doing dishes too!
    What a beautiful, quiet moment.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Thank you for stopping by. I love catching her in those quiet moments. She’s at an age that if the camera is near, she will turn around and pose. This was such a rare treat!

      Like

  15. Julie says:

    the tutu. yes. maybe i should wear a dress (or tutu!) when doing my chores. it might make them more enjoyable!! 😉 thanks for sharing!!

    here’s my moment, if you’d like to see. my 3yo misfired with his older brother’s model paint. whoops. http://homespired.blogspot.com/2014/03/this-moment.html

    Like

  16. All moms need a little helper. Love it!

    Like

  17. ChristyC. says:

    What a precious moment! She’s such a big helper ❤ Those sweet little times when they ask to help are just the cutest. Have a good weekend!
    http://ablithespirit.blogspot.com/2014/03/this-moment.html?showComment=1394820394374#c6563684473680127395

    Like

  18. Kelly says:

    Yay for dish doers. Mine are starting to help too and are finding it so fun! I try to remember that joy when I have a sink full to wash 🙂 Happy weekend!

    Like

  19. Emily says:

    I love it when the little ones help out! Such a sweet moment!

    Like

  20. She looks so much like my Zia when she was a little younger–the soft, loose curls, loving to run the water and “wash” dishes. Have a lovely weekend!

    Like

  21. tinsenpup says:

    There’s nothing quite like a quiet (or boisterous) water meditation, is there? Even if it comes in the form of the washing up. I’m really not sure why I’ve never thought to don a tutu to wash the dishes. It could only help. 🙂

    Like

  22. jbsavage says:

    What a great helper! My son is my best dishwasher. Love the tutu!

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      She has been wearing this tutu since she was 2 yo. Although she’s barely gained half an inch around her waist, what used to reach down to her knees now barely graze her bottom. LOL!

      Like

  23. remmus26 says:

    What a peaceful photo! Love! And I love all the green plants on the window sill too. Just lovely! I hope you have a wonderful weekend! xoxo, summer

    Like

  24. *kate says:

    My boys LOVE “washing dishes.” I cannot wait until they really wash them. As my grandmother is quoted as saying “you have to do more than just show them the water!” Great perspective.
    Happy weekend 🙂

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      I’m looking forward to some “complete” help myself. 🙂 She does have a fascination for cleaning windows though and she does that thoroughly. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  25. Little helpers are great! Washing up is a favourite around here too 🙂

    Like

  26. You cannot go wrong with water play!

    Our moment this week comes from Grace’s second time climbing the rock wall!
    http://ouronesweetfamily.blogspot.com/2014/03/this-moment-at-top.html

    Have a fabulous weekend!

    Like

  27. I have a helper like that. I love the tutu. Everything is better in a tutu.

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!