Greetings from Estonia – A lovely surprise

A little while ago, I was invited by my friend Kim to join my very first snail mail swap. It was hosted by Vibeke over at  A butterfly in my hair and was themed “From YOUR country”. We were invited to sign via email and give our address and a list of interests. From there, she would match us with someone and we would then set off to prepare care packages with things made from our own little neck-of-the-world.

I was paired with Mai from over at usinrosin and I was delighted this week-end to find a lovely package in the mail from Estonia.

IMG_7089 IMG_7091

I was thoroughly spoiled : Delicious chocolate, raspberry crisps for my kids, a wonderful handcrafted soap, socks bearing the official colors of her beautiful country, homemade jelly and last but certainly not least, a beautiful beaded macrame necklace, made of her own talented hands. I’m just beyond words at the generosity and am truly grateful.

My package is making its way to her now. It left a few days later than I had hoped, but I think it was for good reasons which I’ve explained to her in a little note. I will keep that one to myself as to not spoil the surprise.

It has been such a wonderful experience, I’m hoping to participate in more of these swaps in the near future.  Sharing with all these amazing women has given me strength over the last year, and getting to connect with them in more personal and traditional way has been a blessing.

Thank you Mai! Wishing a wonderful, creative summer.

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Snail mail SWap and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Greetings from Estonia – A lovely surprise

  1. That’s very sweet. I had many pen pals as a kid and I even got to meet some once I traveled to their countries (France and Greece among others). Now my daughters are starting their own international friendships. It truly is a gift!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      My daughter has also started writing to friends and keeping correspondence. How wonderful to go to that mailbox and find something other than bills. 😛

      Like

  2. What a lovely package to receive. This was such a fun swap.

    Like

  3. jemills56 says:

    What a lovely idea to connect and share with people from around the world. Little compares with the joy of receiving letters and gift through the post.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Indeed… running to the mailbox was such an amazing thing when I was little. I’ve started introducing my daughter to the joys of writing letters and she has loved it! It is what has made her excited about writing her name and tracing the names of others. She has started to understand the concept of conversation by asking questions and waiting for a response. It’s an amazing learning experience.

      Like

  4. sophiezest says:

    What a lovely idea!

    Like

  5. How wonderful! I spent a week in Estonia years ago and absolutely loved it… maybe one day a snail mail swap could turn into a travel swap:-) Always dreaming…

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Wow… that would be nice! 😛 To dream of far away places. I haven’t traveled in years (at least, not anywhere new), can’t wait til the kiddos are a bit bigger.

      Like

  6. sally says:

    What a lovely idea for a swop, and what a gorgeous package.

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!