Letting go – Smiling on the path of destruction

“Resolve to be tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant with the weak and wrong. Sometime in your life, you will have been all of these.” 

– Gautama Buddha

This morning, I am reminding myself of the joy of learning, exploring and discovering. I’m stopping to force myself to see my surroundings with a child’s heart and eyes. New abilities forming, comprehension of the way things work exploding in me like fireworks. Before construction and repair, there must be deconstruction and inner mechanics. For that, I am not programmed to rebuild. *breathes in and out*

Messmaker 1


Messmaker 2

IMG_6672 Teeth in furniture

* bite marks on the TV stand *

We are all children, and using my blessings as mirrors, I see more of myself.

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Buddha, Cultivation, Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Letting go – Smiling on the path of destruction

  1. sophiezest says:

    Looks like he’s having super fun!

    Like

  2. Merri says:

    I love what you said about using your blessings as MIRRORS! Reflecting is our job! You do a wonderful job of that!—–thank you, Merri

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Thank you… it is sweet to say. The Buddha said “I am them an they are me and all of us are the same”. I just try and remember it when my nerves are a bit shaken and I’m going on little sleep! 🙂

      Like

  3. Oh my, he is having fun discovering his world 🙂 Enjoy little one.

    Like

  4. This is what I call exploring! I love that smile… warms me inside-out.

    “Before construction and repair, there must be deconstruction and inner mechanics.” – fabulous words.

    Wishing you a lovely day.
    xoxo

    Like

  5. mountaingmom says:

    When my littles were still little, the eldest would pull open the bottom drawer in the kitchen, take everything out and sit in it. I put plastic containers and wooden spoons for him to play with there. Such good memories.

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      Yeah, we’ve taken everything out of that bottom drawer that is dangerous. He LOVES the cookie cutters, the bag clips (as you can plainly see from the last picture) and the clothes pins. LOL! Just wish he didn’t have such a fascination with the trash can! LOL!

      Like

  6. kittywilkin says:

    Oh this looks so familiar! Programmed for destruction, but not yet for rebuilding–what a great way to put it! I will think of this tomorrow when I am following my two little tornados, trying to put back together even small parts of our house for a brief glimpse of peace and order.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      It is definitely part of my mantras as a mom :

      – Toddlers are not programmed for cleaning up.
      – Toddlers and preschoolers are not programmed to sit down.
      – Toddlers and preschoolers are not programmed to want to sleep…

      And the list goes on… helps when I meditate on that a little bit everyday! LOL!

      Like

  7. sally says:

    I remember those days! Not that there’s any less mess these days, just different mess now! But those smiles in each photo are just such gorgeous, melt the heart smiles, impossible to resist and makes everything OK smiles.

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

