A Mother’s Day gift

IMG_1117 (1024x683) IMG_1150 (1024x683) IMG_1146 (1024x683) IMG_1125 (1024x683) IMG_1121 (1024x683) IMG_1122 (1024x683)

Early Friday morning, although a chill was back in the air, we bundled up and heading out for our morning walk. Both the children have taken a great liking to our little hikes after breakfast, waking up with the sun and birds, getting to run and play in trails often very free and uncrowded.

This time, we went back to one of our favorite spots. I’ve shown you this place a few times here and here. It truly is a magical place. Every time we go back, every season brings us new understanding and wonder. This year, we made it there as the trillium were starting to bloom. We didn’t see many blooms, but the carpets of leaves unfurling are promising a grand display in a few days. I can assure you we will be going back!

As I was slowly walking along the trails, snapping pictures, a kind older gentleman stopped and asked me, smiling knowingly : “You are probably not very often on the other side of that camera are you?” Looking at my beautiful babies climbing on stumps and smelling flowers, I looked back and giggled. “Give me your camera for a minute”, he said, “it’s almost Mother’s Day, I think you should be in at least one picture.”

IMG_1127 (1280x853)

I can’t remember that last time I was in a picture with both my little angels.

Happy Mother’s Day to all my amazing mamas out there!

May you find kindness and love from everyone around you. You deserve it!

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to A Mother’s Day gift

  1. mari says:

    And to you also Yanic…may this season be everything you want it to be :0) mari

    Like

  2. Carie says:

    Oh what a gorgeous photo of the three of you! It’s lovely to see you see you if that makes sense! Happy Mother’s Day – may your days continue to start with more wonderful walks in the woods!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Carie… I know, I’m not very good at showing myself on my blog. I’m glad I get to show my face every once in a while. 🙂 Thank you for the wonderful wishes. I’m reading this as we come home after a drizzly walk in the forest so it makes me smile extra wide. ❤

      Like

  3. mountaingmom says:

    Lovely gentleman and wonderful photo. Happy Mother’s Day to you.

    Like

  4. I don’t think I’ve ever seen you! at least not lately, happy mother’s day, you are as beautiful as your children 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a beautiful picture of the three of you! I often run into the same problem. 😉

    Like

  6. barnraised says:

    Beautiful picture! Happy mama’s day to you!

    Like

  7. What a lovely gesture. I have been known to stop and snap shots of families I don’t know, it’s fun 🙂

    Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day. xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I do it too… we walk down town and I see groups of tourist trying to fit 5 people in a selfie. *sighs* I always offer to take a real picture. I did thank you, hope yours was equally wonderful.

      Like

  8. kathrynpagano says:

    What a great picture! I love how no matter how hard you try you can’t ever get get kids to look at that camera!

    Like

  9. Happy Mother’s Day! What a happy, beautiful looking bunch! 🙂

    Like

  10. alexa says:

    My dear friend, you look wonderful. So nice to catch up a bit with your news! Wishing you a wonderful week! 🙂

    Like

  11. What a wonderful gift indeed. So wonderful to see your beautiful self along with your beautiful children, my friend! Happy Mother’s Day (a bit late 😉 )

    Like

  12. sally says:

    What a beautiful photo, and a lovely, kind man. Perfect way to remember what looks like a very special walk.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you, It truly was Sally, just enchanting… There is always something very fairy tale like about the moss, ferns , trout lilies and trillium blooming.

      Like

  13. oh that was such a nice gift, you’re beautiful! Happy Mother’s Day mama!

    Like

  14. deserthomespun says:

    So sweet. Mamas aren’t in the photos enough.

    Like

  15. Appleshoe says:

    What a lovely gift. I try to offer the same whenever I see a parent taking pictures, but tend to hide from the camera myself. A big fat pregnant belly will do that to a person I hear, LOL. When your kids ask where you were in the future when looking through photos, remind them that someone had to hold the camera. Shine on.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I’m sure you look amazing… I try and do the same as well. Especially downtown. We get a lot of tourists and they are always trying to cram 10 people in a iPhone selfie. LOL! xo

      Like

  16. sophiezest says:

    Oh what a lovely photo! You are all beautiful!

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!