50/52 – Her & Him

A portrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_3642 (1024x682)

Little Miss : I found you hiding under a tree during our early morning walk. “It smells so good mom, it smells like Christmas.” It’s been a little hard to get into the spirit this year. There is something very strange and unfamiliar to 8’C (46’F) days in the middle of December. But you are making the most of it. Little things make it fun like still being able to go play at the park without any gloves on, but I know you dream of snow. I’ll keep praying for a white Christmas for you. I know it would just be the best gift you could ever receive. But in the meantime, thank you for running with the days we are given and just loving the season regardless. ❤

A portrait of my son, once a week, every week, in 2015.

IMG_3569 (1024x683)

Little Man : This week was a quiet one for you. You have slowly been adapting to longer stretches of time indoors and although sometimes, you just can’t stand it, most of the time, you muddle through without any fretting. You are so happy with the simplest things. I think it is why you love the outdoors so much. But heavy rain and close to freezing weather mean indoors now, puddle jumping is over for a little while. You and me, we’ll find our own new adventures, you’ll see. ❤

Joining Jodi for the 52 Project

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in 52 Project, Family Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 50/52 – Her & Him

  1. Kim says:

    We are hoping for the gift of some snow too. We have been enjoying the warmer days, but we are ready for winter, and the fun that comes with it. Fingers crossed it happens soon.

    Make sure your little man brings his dinosaurs when you guys come, my little man is into dinosaurs in a big way right now, they will have so much fun playing 🙂

    Hope you have a lovely start to your week. xo

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Oh yes… from what we can tell from the 14 day forecast, we may get a few centimeters just before Xmas. Fingers crossed indeed!

      We’ll be sure and pack up the dino-fleet! Little man has quite a few. Should be fun to see them all play together again. Can’t wait to see you guys. xoxo

      Like

  2. mirari says:

    j’ai lu comme quoi les courents maritimes sont en train de changer et que le climat canadien arriverà chez nous un jour, et le notre chez vous. c’est peut-être en train de passer là maintenant, même si on a pas de neige il fait plus froid ici…

    Like

  3. Looks like there are some adventures to be had with those dinosaurs. It seems we have had your snow over here, we don’t usually have much before Christmas but we have had two lots now and both have stayed around for a few days. Hope you get the snow too!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      We did today! I’ll post pictures tomorrow for sure. And yes, it really does seem that parts of the world have switched places haven’t they? Hopefully you will get a nice soft white Christmas. I wish everyone could. Makes me feel like a big kid.

      Like

  4. Carie says:

    We’ve no sign of snow here either – it’s barely even dipped into single figures, but I’d love to wake up on Christmas morning to a big fluffy blanket of snow, wouldn’t that be magical – here’s hoping for all of us!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      That would be straight out of a fairytale wouldn’t it? We got SOMUCH snow today (prayers answered for sure) but will we have a white Christmas? I’m still on the fence about that one. Hoping you get a big serving of it soon. xo

      Like

  5. Appleshoe says:

    I hope she gets that snow too. It really doesn’t feel quite like Christmas without it, does it? Bear has suggested several times that we move to a warmer state but I can’t leave because of the snow. The picture of your little man made me smile, our boys are so similar. I’ll send you a picture later today. One of the joys of having a child on the spectrum is that they can be so easily content. Fresh air, a stick, a puddle, maybe a rock and they are good to go. Shine on.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      I always say that too : Such a simple boy to please. 🙂 And yes, they have so much in common. Darn this distance!

      Oh! We got snow today (I’ll post about it tomorrow). Not sure if it will last ’til Christmas, we still have a few warm days on the forecast, but my did we fully enjoy it. 🙂

      Like

  6. Marie says:

    Très belles photos Yanic. Ma fille a eu une exclamation d’admiration quand elle a vu le manteau de Little Miss. Oh, qu’il est beau! a-t-elle dit 😉

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      🙂 Tu lui diras merci de la part de ma fille. Malgré le fait que ma fille vie son amour du rose à fond (comme plusieurs petites filles), elle n,aime pas tous les roses et elle ne veut surtout pas avoir d’l’air d’une princesse Disney (ces mots exacts) donc il y a souvent du gris, do noir, des couleurs plus subtiles… Ça fait bien notre affaire!

      Merci pour les gentils mots. J’espère que vous passez une belle semaine.

      Like

  7. Marie says:

    L’amour du rose, on connait aussi 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sally says:

    I’m definitely with your daughter, not a lot beats the smell of Christmas trees!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Sometimes I miss bringing the real tree in, but between little man, 2 crazy cats and a tiny home, the big Christmas tree is just too much for now. We’ll see as everyone gets older. For now, we will enjoy them outside. 🙂

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!