Fixing the Hello Kitty hat – A crafty evening project!

My daughter started preschool last January. This means that she now spends most of her days in a state of preparation for kindergarten. If that isn’t enough for a little brain, we’ve found a school that does 2 days of immersion in English (French being her first language). Some think that it’s a bit too much a 3 1/2 yo, but little do they know that my daughter requested it. Before that, she was in a family run daycare with a lovely daycare provider that we loved, but she was bored. She started acting out, not being herself. So to preschool she went and she couldn’t be happier.

But when evening comes, she’s spent… If she wasn’t 3, she would just fall out at 6 I think, but being 3, she is convinced she’s not tired. I’m sure many of you know exactly what I’m talking about.

So, part of our nightly routine has been doing some sort of craft, something to relax her mind, help her focus and send her to bed feeling accomplished : Like if everything she does all day isn’t enough! She’s gonna be an over achiever this one, I can tell you that! Usually, it’s all about painting or drawing, but we did a LOT of that this week-end. So I thought I would try something new.

My daughter owns a Hello Kitty winter hat that unfortunately quickly lost its bow due to it being only glued in place. I kept telling her I would replace it, but the hat eventually found itself into a box at the top of the closet and Hello Kitty went unfixed.

This morning, I received an email update from one of my favorite kids craft site, Red Ted Art and came across this fun little scrappy fabric flower project that seemed perfect for the evening and for saving the cat hat!

Fabric Flower 1 IMG_6099 IMG_6110 IMG_6112IMG_6115What kind of fun do you get into before bedtime???

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Crafting, Family Life, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fixing the Hello Kitty hat – A crafty evening project!

  1. How fun! The flower looks aweome, can’t wait to make some. Thanks for sharing the link 🙂

    Like

    • quiltykanuck says:

      You are welcome! My daughter lied them so much I have plans for a “flower garden throw” to take into the yard for picnics this summer. I’m thinking scrappy quilt with a flower patch in one corner. 🙂

      Like

  2. by far the most stylish hello kitty i have ever seen…

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

