Creamy Cole slaw – Onion and Garlic free Recipe

To me, very little says summer picnic like a nice Cole slaw. Creamy is our favorite here, the sweetness of the dressing making it perfect for the kiddos. But you can imagine how impossible it is to find a creamy Cole slaw ready to serve in restaurant or the grocery store when you have strict onion and garlic restrictions in the home. Even buying the dressing to make it ourselves has proven impossible.

So after a few attempts at tweaking this classic, with the help of my WONDERFUL mom, we came up with a recipe that is just fantastic and I’m so happy to share it with you.

** This recipe is vegetarian but not vegan, but I’m sure the mayonnaise and milk could be switched out for Veganaise and some variety of unsweetened plant based milk. **Β 

IMG_7073

Creamy Cole slaw

For the slaw, you’ll need :

  • 1/2 red cabbage, shredded
  • 1/2 green cabbage, shredded
  • 2 large carrots, grated
  • 2 large branches of celery, grated

For the dressing, you’ll need :

  • 1/2 cup of mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup of whole milk
  • 1/4 cup of pure cane sugar
  • 2 TBSP of apple cider vinegar
  • 2 TBSP of lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp of sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp of celery seeds
  • black pepper to taste

I placed all my dressing ingredients into a large Mason jar and proceeded to shake it for a few minutes. Pour over slaw mix and toss. I let it sit in the fridge for about an hour to let the cabbage wilt and the flavors develop. It kept well for 3 days in the fridge.

Hope you’ll try it and give me news. πŸ™‚

Do you have a favorite summer picnic dish/recipe?

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Food, Garlic and Onion free cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Creamy Cole slaw – Onion and Garlic free Recipe

  1. I was just saying last week how much I love cole slaw and need my own recipe. Perfect timing!

    Like

  2. Looks delish, will definitely give it a go with veganaise and some almond milk and let you know how it turns out. Favourite summer picnic dish….quinoa, carrot and beet salad.

    Like

  3. jemills56 says:

    An old family favorite and disgusting as it may sound has always been eaten with spaghetti bolognese since childhood πŸ™‚ yum!

    Like

  4. karen says:

    I was looking for a recipe and here it is! Thank you πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      You are welcome. For a vegan version, Kim from Mothering with Mindfulness did almond milk instead of whole milk and veganese instead of mayo and said it was delicious! πŸ™‚ Let me know how you like it.

      Like

  5. Just made the slaw and it is good! I seriously could eat the whole thing. Thanks for the recipe.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Yay! Glad you enjoyed it… and yes, very addictive. πŸ™‚ I used the dressing for a broccoli-cranberry-walnut salad tonight, really good as well. I’m thinking this will be my go-to creamy dressing from now on! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the feedback. πŸ™‚

      Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!

