Around our home

IMG_1375 (683x1024)

IMG_1376 (1024x683)

IMG_1377 (1024x683) IMG_1379 (1024x683) IMG_1380 (1024x683) IMG_1386 (1024x683)IMG_1381 (1024x683)IMG_1382 (1024x683)IMG_1383 (1024x683)

 

Things are finally picking up here. It’s hard to believe that a month ago, everything was bare and now, I’m thinning (and eating) greens and eating asparagus everyday.  All our flowering trees are in bloom, our fruit trees as well. The night of frost that hit most of Eastern Canada decided to pass us by and our lilacs, crab apples, apples, plums and Japanese quince blooms came through unharmed. The dandelions are everywhere, growing tall and waiting to be picked, dried and infused. It’s been gray and rainy the last few days so we’ve been waiting for a warm dry morning to gather them all up. This year, in addition to making soap and salve, I’m trying my hand at dandelion syrup. Not sure I’ll put the rhubarb in (it is optional after all), but I’m very excited to add this to our pantry for warm breakfasts on colder mornings.

You’ve probably noticed on the first picture that our new front yard garden is already producing. We’ve been having a bit of issues with the soil, it seeming a bit more “sandy” than we would like.  We are hoping to be able to amend with some more compost as soon as the plants get a little taller. We have a few patches reserved for tomatoes and peppers that are going in this afternoon. But for now, we’ll be thinning out Mesclun greens, our beans are putting out their 2nd sets of true leaves and our peas are a few inches away from starting their climb.

On the last picture here, you get a peek at our new “living fence” in the making. We decided this year to try our hand at instant garden beds using top soil bags over thick layers of newspapers. We punched holes through the bottom and proceeded to plant sunflowers and corn. The roots will easily find their way down through the holes of the bags, the newspaper softening as it’s killing off the grass and weeds. In fall, we will remove the plastic and leave the dirt in place. Next Spring, we will double up “the trench” (as we are calling it). We will be planting grape vines in the 2-year-old row and planting annual veggies in the 1-year-old row. And so on until the trench is 4 bags wide. So in 4 years, we will have added another 200 sq.ft of gardens with very little effort. We’ll keep you updated!

Last but not least, I leave you with a little sneak peek at how our fairy garden is coming along. More on that later… But I can promise, it will be something!

Have a wonderful week everyone.

IMG_1384 (1024x683)

About Yanic A.

Hello to all of you and thank you for stopping by! My name is Yanic. I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, a mother of 2 beautifully complex and unique children and a lover of all things inspiring. Having started a personal journey of self discovery when I found out I was pregnant with my daughter 4 years ago, I've since embraced a daily life of simpler pleasures and gratitude. As we get to know each other, you will know me as a quilter, a gardener, a Tao cultivator, a vegetarian foodie, a true believer in a healthy family life as being the secret to my happiness and hopefully as time goes on, a friend... I will try to share with you my days as they unfold, speaking of my happy successes without censoring my challenges, trying to make this blog a true portrait of the ever-changing path that I have chosen for myself. I'm hoping to find in these pages others to share with and learn from, bringing to light the absolute connection in all things and people, showing this world as being a true community.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Food preservation, Gardening, Homesteading, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Around our home

  1. Carlin says:

    I love so very many things about this post – mostly that Spring has made it’s way to you!! The gardens look great, and the fairy door is awesome. We might need to make some here too! Have a good week!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Carlin… The fairy door is my husband’s handy work. I’m so lucky to have to have married an amazing artist. And as I’m writing this, I’m snacking on freshly picked arugula… Life really is good! 🙂 Have a lovely week as well. xo

      Like

  2. mountaingmom says:

    Yanic, when you use dry dandelion petals in soap, do they turn black? I make cold process soap and have found the lye solution tirrns petals an unpleasant color. I am curious as I’m always looking for new additions.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Hi! I will be trying my first cold process soaps this year, but even with the melt & Pour, I never used the petals, I used the infused olive oil. I’ve never tried putting the petals directly in. I add 1/4 cup of infused oils to my melt & pour base. Last year, I dried late dandelion blooms and infused olive oil with them and lavender leaves (I was all out of flowers and didn’t wanted to waste the stems and leaves). The smell was intoxicating so I used it in my soap and added calendula petals. I look forward to trying the same combination by cold process this year. Sorry I couldn’t be more help!

      Like

  3. KerryCan says:

    That whole thing about the instant garden is fascinating–I’ll be very interested to follow and see how it works! Such abundance all around you–it’s exciting to watch it unfold!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      We bought this amazing book : http://www.amazon.com/Starter-Vegetable-Gardens-No-Fail-Organic/dp/1603425292 . Both of our new gardens (front yard is inspired by the “Bountiful Border” design and our bag gardens are from their plans also. Just a wonderful resource.

      We have a 5 year plan (this is year 2) of eliminating much of the “grass” on our property. We really don’t care for it and our soil is very acidic because of all the conifers around. We have a goal for 2000 sq.ft of gardens, about the same in medicinal plants and perennial flowers and a huge play area for the kids that will be covered with clover and other ecological ground cover. It will be amazing. I’ve always dreamed of this type of property. Little by little, we are making it happen!

      Like

  4. you have such a pretty garden! I loved seeing your flowering trees and bushes, everything looks lush 🙂 Glad the frost skipped you!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Than you Karen. Not everyone was as lucky as we were to be spared. We went driving around all the local orchards the next day and saw that it was the whole area that was spared. Yields shouldn’t be affected here thank God! This time of year is always so green. When the heat of summer sets in, we lose a bit of our “brilliance”, so I’m soaking it all in. Considering the humidex should reach low 90s this afternoon, I have a feeling the extreme cold of winter will be soon forgotten!

      Like

  5. Lotta says:

    How lovely to see your garden unfolding. I like the idea of using dandelions in soap – I’ve never made any before but tempted to give it a try. Also the book you recommended in your reply to Kerry sounds good – I’m planning a proper veg garden for next year although I know in reality it will be a little at a time! Thanks for sharing your plans.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Lotta.

      It’s a wonderful book. Simple, to the point. And they have plans for every style, every need. I strongly recommend it.

      I’ll be trying my hand at cold process soap for the first time hopefully this year. *fingers crossed*

      Like

  6. So nice to see things growing in your part of the world. Enjoy!

    Like

  7. mari says:

    the fence is just a fabulous idea! Your garden is looking so pretty Yanic :0) mari

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you Mari… We eventually want a real fence, Or more a wire fence/trellis for the vines. But I could never see myself completely fenced in. I have amazing neighbors. It would be sad to not see each other you know?

      Like

  8. It’s nice to be able to go to the garden and see growth from day to day! It snowed four days ago but was 84* today. It’s starting to feel like winter isn’t coming back this spring.

    Like

  9. uhmmm you lucky lady!

    Like

  10. erica says:

    your garden is looking wonderful Yanic…You have been busy!! I\d love to know if you are in Canada or eastern USA? Have a great day!!

    Like

  11. barnraised says:

    Everything is looking gorgeous! I love the fairy garden. I’m going to have to get up a pic of our little fairy garden!

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you. We’ve had such amazing weather the last few days that everything has doubled in size. Even the peas have started climbing.

      I would love to see pictures of your little garden. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Andrea says:

    Cutest fairy garden, ever!

    Like

  13. Love the living fence idea! And looking forward to what becomes of the fairy garden. My mother in law made one with our kiddos last summer in an old red wagon and it was very enchanting indeed.

    Like

    • Yanic A. says:

      Thank you… Everything is growing really well out of those bags already. Every 4 bags, I have a few sunflowers. But in the other bags, I have 1 squash plant, 1 corn and 3 pole bean. We decided to try our 3 sisters planting idea in there. *fingers crossed*

      I’ll have more pictures of the fairy garden next week. My husband carved beautiful wooden mushrooms for Little Miss and she just finished painting them. One coat of wax and we are good to go!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Carie says:

    Aww the fairy door is just awesome – that’s so cute!!

    Like

  15. sally says:

    It’s all looking wonderful and I love your instant garden idea, that is very doable – which is exactly what I need with gardening! I’m pondering where it might go now…

    Like

  16. kathrynpagano says:

    That fairy garden is the best! 🙂 I love your little garden plot.

    Like

I would love to hear from you so please, take a minute and say hello!